House Rules Usurpation
House Rules » House Rules Usurpation
Alternate rule 1.1.: If the usurping scion gains regency less than twice their bloodline score from the usurpation than they gain nothing at all; the bloodline of the donor scion is absorbed completely with no effect whatsoever. This alternate means that scions with strong bloodlines can only gain strength from scions with reasonable bloodlines themselves, the Gorgon for example (bloodline 140) with have to usurp a scion with a bloodline of 56 or more to gain strength - and only the strongest houses have bloodline strengths of that magnitude.
(Rule suggested by AndrewTall, aim: to justify the Gorgon's use of lesser awnsheghlien and regent's rather than simply stealing their bloodlines - he also now has a reason to build up the Anuirean regents before harvesting them...)
Alternate rule 1.2.: A scion can only usurp another scion if they kill with donor scion with a blow to the heart, or use a tighmaevril weapon.
(This is the original AD&D rule.)
Alternate rule 2.1.: The non-blooded character can gain a bloodline of at most their charisma score plus one quarter of their level times the bloodline strength modifier (1 for tainted, 2 for minor, 3 for major, 4 for great and 5 for true). Excess regency points pass to the next unblooded person present who then absorbs points using the same method for determining maximum. The GM should increase the maximum bloodline score possible if the recipient's nature is very close to the deity in question.
(Rule suggested by AndrewTall, reason: multiple scions can gain strength from usurpation, why not multiple unblooded types? Particularly if they kill a powerful scion, like the typical PC regent...)
Alternate rule 2.2.: Non-blooded characters cannot gain a bloodline by usurpation except under unusual circumstances, such as usurpation of a true scion, death-blow using a Tighmaevril weapon, or the intervention of the gods themselves.
(Rule suggested by AndrewTall, modification of the original AD&D rule to allow usurpation by the unblooded only at the DM's whim)
Alternate rule 2.3.: Unblooded characters cannot gain a bloodline by usurpation. This is the original AD&D rule, and jolly good news for a low level regent facing a high level unblooded commoner it is too.
Alternate rule 3.1: There is no such animal, only the slayer of the donor scion knows that they have slain a scion and usurped their bloodline although those aware of the donor's bloodline will probably know what must have occurred.
(suggested by Andrew Tall: Not sure if this is the original rule or not but it certainly makes assassination easier...)
Alternate rule 3.2 The Regency Storm varies depending on the derivation of the bloodline as follows:
(suggestions from old br.net)
The donor scion's blood-power leaves the body in a soft golden glow, rising skyward to gently fade away into the heavens (or, if bloodtheft occurs, the recipient is briefly surrounded by a golden halo of light. The recipient feels energetic, yet warm and comforted for a long while afterwards. If the usurper is of evil alignment, there is a great clap of thunder and the recipient is blown backwards, crackling with wild energy for a short duration afterwards, and they feel supremely powerful during this time).
The former scion bursts into flame from the release of the intense divine essence of the sun goddess, leaving only a fine powdery ash of the former godling (effect dependent upon the bloodline strength of the former scion - tainted would leave a burned corpse, whereas a great strength reducing it as per above). (If bloodtheft occurs, the recipient *also* temporarily bursts into flame, but is little harmed by the transfer - except perhaps in requiring a new wardrobe! (Modesty being maintained all the while, of course!) ;) The recipient feels hot and flushed afterwards, full of energy and action. If of evil alignment, the blood-thief feels like their blood is boiling, and relief comes only slowly to the recipient (until the essence is thoroughly polluted by their evil disposition)).
Brenna's bloodline leaves very little indication that transference of power has occurred. The scion's blood-power leaves the body in the barest tendrils of the blackest black, darker than obsidian; indeed, it?s more a *feeling* of the transfer occurrence. Best described as 'the hair standing on end'/electrified feeling one gets when near high voltage currents (or, if bloodtheft occurs, ala the black oil in the X-files). During the transfer, the recipient feels a burning cold within them, but afterwards feels flushed and intoxicated for some time. Brenna's essence does not distinguish between alignments).
Wave after wave of radiant actinic energy rushes out of the dying scion, all the intense emotions of the scion's last moment of life pulsing out with it! All those touched/in the vicinity of the release of blood-power experience every intense emotion, from hatred to love, ranging the full spectrum of the specie's capacity for feeling them, but beyond any extreme most mortals have ever felt. The last emotions are almost always pain, sorrow, and agony, however, and most scions bless that they never feel this transference of power. Every scion who has ever felt Masela's essence describe it most like the pain and agony that is associated with forceful divestiture and/or bloodtheft [or giving birth! ;)]. (If bloodtheft occurs, there is no mercy for the thief. The killer feels *only* the pain and agony of his deed, and the recipient is incapacitated long afterwards by painful cramps, nausea (sea sickness), and during the act, the feeling that every fiber of their person is being pulled in every direction at the same time). [Note: the picture on the front of the BoP, IMO, shows the transfer of the essence of Masela to a scion]. Masela's essence does not distinguish between alignments - all types feel the same pain and suffering).
The blood-power of the scion virtually drains away from the body (torso), the soft emerald green rivulets of power trickling into the cracks/undergrowth/crevices of the surrounding earth within a matter of moments (if bloodtheft occurred, the green rivulets flow up the instrument of death and under the skin of the arms to disappear in the recipients body, eyes briefly glowing an emerald green (also ala the black oil in the X-files). The recipient feels more *alive* for awhile afterwards, and all senses are heightened for the duration. Note, if the blood-thief is of evil alignment, this transfer of power feels slimy, like there is a million slugs slithering all over them. It is a most uncomfortable feeling, and only abates when Reynir's essence has been thoroughly corrupted and polluted by the new possessor?s evil disposition).
A soft white light surrounds the dying scion, and gradually fades into nothingness within the heavens (much like Anduiras' effect). (If bloodtheft occurs, the recipient is surrounded by a white, wispy halo, much like the faerie fire spell, and feels the utmost calm and serenity that the being has probably ever felt in their life. It is reported that visions often come to the recipient afterwards. Oddly enough, the effect of Vorynn's essence does not change when the recipient is of evil alignment. However, evil blood thieves always feel an odd sense of foreboding for a long while after the transfer, and the uneasy sense that they will come to regret their actions. Indeed, it is said that the evil scion cannot shake the feelings of doubt and uncertainty that haunt their every thought thereafter).
This is the traditional lightening effect, the most grandiose display (as is proper for the former god of pride!). Lightning sparks and arcs from the dying scion's heart/torso into the ground surrounding them and into the heavens above. Of course, Azrai's 'curse' is the most widely known of all the bloodlines, and is the type most associated with bloodtheft throughout Cerilia. Curiously, even during bloodtheft or proper investiture ceremonies, accounts state that Azrai's essence seems to strike and imbue godly essence into nearby living creatures or inanimate objects, seemingly at random, despite the intentions of the blood-thief or investiture priest! One can never be sure what to expect when dealing with the Blood-power of the Supreme Shadow ... (If bloodtheft occurs, the recipient is zapped (ala the Highlander series; or, for a BR original, I always refer to the death of The Sinister pic in Blood enemies), but a transfer of power is never assured. The DM is free here to do as they please, shocking the recipient with damage while giving them the power; *OR*, the other extreme: even taking the bloodline of the blood-thief along with it into the ground and/or another being! (If corruption does not occur, there is a chance that that?s the way I play it! ;) MUWHAHAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!) (Rule from birthright.net files)
, 05-01-2007 at 11:06 PM|
Last edited by , 10-23-2011 at 11:56 AM
0 Comments, 569 Views
Loading Selected Tab - Please Wait