Doctrine of two swords

Haelyn » Doctrine » Doctrine of two swords
Part of a series on Religion
Avani · Erik· Haelyn · Belinik · Nesirie · Sera · Cuiraécen · Eloéle · Kriesha · Laerme · Ruornil
Avani · Erik · Haelyn · Belinik · Nesirie · Sera · Cuiraécen · Eloéle · Kriesha · Laerme · Ruornil
Ariyan School · Holn's Companionship · Doctrine of two swords · Dominionism · Principles of Fitzalan · Orthodox Principles
Parthenae Doctrine · Berhagen school
Fisker Doctrine · Viking Doctrine
The Imperial Temple, relying on the Book of Laws proclaimed a doctrine of two swords. Haelyn was patron of all of Anuire, but he had two principle arms to protect and defend his people. One was the nobles, with their states, their armies, and their laws; and the other was the priests, with their temples, spells, and their laws. Neither was supposed to dominate the other, for why should Haelyn struggle with himself? Instead they were supposed to work together, each in their own domain, for the good of society as spelled out in the full doctrine of Haelyn. The Emperor and the Imperial Temple were partners, neither a servant of the other, nor a master. As such, the orthodox doctrine of Haelyn is opposed to theocracy, since it unifies both swords into one, either the noble or the priest must be master of the other.
The notable theocracy in Anuire today is Talinie. The Northern Imperial Temple is in control of the state there. In part this is an accident of succession, Thalia Armara succeeding to both Talinie and the Northern Imperial Temple. But it's also a peculiarity of Talinie's history. When Fitzalan the Blessed severed the northern temple from the Imperial Temple, Talinie had suffered terrible civil disturbances caused by both nobles and priests, and unity with an end to the fighting was a higher good than a separation of powers to act as checks on one another.
This doctrine is generally contrasted with Dominionism.

Tags for this Page


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.