Main Page » Domain and Regency » Government » Dynasties
Part of a series on Government
How many rule
Monarchy · Oligarchy · Anarchy
Who is served
Aristocratic · Theocratic · Plutocratic
Magocratic · Kleptocratic · Autocratic
Realm · Law · Temple · Guild · Source
Vassal · Lieutenant · Cohort · Advisor
Specialist · Follower · Court · Officials
Dynasties · Bloodline · Investiture
Heir · Ceremony · Cadet

Regents do not live forever.
Even if a regent comes from the immortal elven race or has special, magical abilities that keep him from aging, no adventuring regent truly expects to survive eternally. The life of the Cerilian regent can be measured more by its accomplishments than by its length.
This fact makes the regent?s realm important to him. Not only does his domain proclaim his power and influence while he lives, but it becomes a form of immortality when he dies. Most true regents desire immortality of this kind: To create a realm that lasts beyond the lifetime of its ruler is the ultimate goal of many kings and queens across Cerilia.
Most true regents hope to create or pass along dynasties to their heirs. Regents who cannot look beyond their own lives and rules seldom leave stable domains behind them. Their heirs and the nobles of the realm squabble over the regency, destroying much of what the regent built over his lifetime. Only a strong, secure dynasty can handle the passing of its head and the ascension of a new leader.

The most important thing a PC regent can do to begin a dynasty is to designate an heir. Usually,
once a regent has established himself, he starts looking toward siring or selecting an heir to ensure the continuance of his line of rulership.
Cadet lines

The creation of a dynasty does not end with the appointment of an heir. True dynasties expand
outward, influencing and perhaps controlling more than is apparent at first glance. A true dynasty
starts with a family and a succession ? but ends only when the branches of the family tree cannot stretch outward any further.

Tags for this Page


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.