Incantation, dynamic spellcasting

Advanced d20 Magic » Incantation, dynamic spellcasting
Many spells may be used with an Incantation ? a ritual chant to help focus magical energies. By using an Incantation
associated with a spell, the character can make the process of casting the spell easier. When using an Incantation, the character must take a full round to cast the spell. That is, the character must spend all his or her actions during the round to cast the spell, and the spell is still not complete until the character?s Initiative on the following round. This gives everyone around ample opportunity to attempt to interrupt the spell.
In addition, anyone who can hear the Incantation and recognises it will immediately know what spell the character is casting. If the GM is uncertain whether a particular character would recognise the Incantation, a Knowledge (Arcane) (or Spellcraft) check may be made. The DC of this check depends on how likely the character is to have knowledge of that spell, and may range from DC 15 up to DC 30 or more for truly obscure magic. In most cases, using half of the spell?s DC for this check is appropriate.
The advantage of using an Incantation is that the character gains a +5 bonus to the Fortitude Save to resist Spell Drain and to the Control check (if one is required). This bonus stacks with the bonus for Invocation (the two are often used together). Further, the DCs of saving throws against the spell are increased by +2 if Incantation is used.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Feats, dynamic spellcasting
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 12:38 PM
  2. Dynamic Spellcasting
    By Sorontar in forum Category
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 12:25 AM
  3. Dynamic Spellcasting
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 12:16 AM
  4. Invocation, dynamic spellcasting
    By BRadmin in forum Main
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 01:22 AM
  5. Investment dynamic spellcasting
    By BRadmin in forum Main
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2007, 02:35 AM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.