"Tax" is a term that can have a variety of meanings in Birthright, depending on the context used.
  • For the (optional) game mechanic of raising the GB collection in a province, see Variant: Taxation modifiers
  • "Tax" can also refer to the Player vs. Player tactic of a province regent taking a percentage of the seasonal income from holdings in their realm (often but not limited to guild holdings), trade routes, etc. This is a matter of player agreement, and can be handled via diplomacy and/or decree. In this sense, any payment can be a "tax" - a tax to rule up a holding, a tax to pass troops through a province, a tax to not get invaded, etc.
  • Generally speaking, "tax" is also a role-play concept, as any peasant in the game world may be subject to a tax or levy - a province's income has to come from somewhere. However, this is an "assumed" fact of life and has no bearing on the game as far as the rules go.

Tags for this Page


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.