Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    BR AD&D 2E, rules clarification

    I am just a bit confused with a few domain actions as I read them directly from the original 2nd ed. setting:

    Contest action
    Can Law regents provide their holding level in a contest action between 2 other regents?

    e.g. two guilds contest each other. All regents in the domain can assist anyone with RPs. But who can assist with their holding level?

    Rule action
    Can a Law regent oppose with his holding level the ruling of a province? Can the province ruler oppose the ruling of any holding (except source ofc) using his Province rating?

    And finally. Suppose a province (5) has two Law regents. Both have a Law holding (2). One of the two is the province ruler too. The other one contests the law holding of the ruler. So he must roll d20 and roll over :
    10 (Base) + 2 (opponent's Law) - 2 (his Law) + 5 (opponent's province rating) = 15 ?

  2. #2
    Site Moderator AndrewTall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    London, England
    Oh the fun of remembering what the heck we used to do, and trying to separate canon from house rules in the cobwebs of our minds ;-)

    The Rule action (page 59) notes that "the province ruler and any regent with a similar holding in the province can support or oppose the action by adding or subtracting the level of their own holdings."

    The contest action is silent on such support / opposition. It implies that any two regents can contest each other, although the example unhelpfully is guild v guild, and notes that a contested province with L0 law is freed of the contest not by ruling up the province, but by gaining a law holding - although that might simply be because a peaceful province contest action could only work if no law was held (and the loyalty was poor/rebellious).

    My recollection is suspiciously similar to your note though, a guild can support/oppose guild actions, temple can support oppose temple actions, source can support/oppose source actions, but a law can support/oppose any province, law, guild or temple action - the special power of the law holding compared to the guild power (trade routes) and temple/source power (spells).

  3. #3
    Many thanks man, that is how i done it till now.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2E rules clarification
    By Mantyluoto in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 10:28 AM
  2. Rules Clarification Regency Col
    By Ed Stark in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-01-1997, 04:36 PM
  3. Rules Clarification Paladin Ava
    By Sean Brown in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-1997, 05:45 AM
  4. Rules Clarification Dwarvish de
    By Andrew Bruce in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-1997, 06:41 AM
  5. Rules Clarification Dwarvish dexter
    By Jan P. M. Arnoldus in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-1997, 10:51 PM

Tags for this Thread


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.