Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    95
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    2E rules clarification

    Trade routes, can a regent without a Guild Holding maintain and receive GB for one. I ask this because in the 2E box set there is a card for Roesone and it lists a pair of Trade Routes down but the Current Regent has no Guild holdings, and the rule book says that only regents with Guilding holdings blah blah blah.

    Any clarification of this would be most welcome.

    Manty

  2. #2
    Birthright Developer irdeggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    3,946
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Correct, in 2nd ed only guilders could directly benefit from trade routs (i.e. RP and GB) - but the realm regent could reasonably charge a tribute from any trade route originating or ending in his realm (BoR sets the number at 25% for friendly and 50% for unfriendly guilders). Also in order to have a land trade route a road was necessary so this makes it possible to move troops along trade routes.


    You need to remember that things describing the province aren't all controlled by the province ruler but are usually a listing of holdings and such in the province - who owns what is either specified elsewhere or up to the DM to determine.

    Note also that sources grant no benefit to a non-wizard (more specificaly a blooded wizard for those playing elves). The BoM talks more about non-wizards and sources.
    Duane Eggert

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.