>The rulebook states that divesting holdings causes losses of Regency
>sometimes bloodline strength (p.48).
>Do DM's generally rule or the rules provide that this applies always,
>if a Regent is voluntarily passing control of a holding to another

This has to be a DM call based on the situation. I see loss of regency
being because the people that you rule have lost faith in you for some
reason, such as failing to answer a blood challenge, failing to protect
them, or acting against your alignment. If the person being invested is
a popular hero, then I would not impose loss of regency. If it's another
PC who just turned up and got an unlucky roll on his Blood Points and
couldn't afford a decent realm, then BPs will be lost.

philip.hibbs@tnt.co.uk or phibbs@compuserve.com