Whale, Orca Whale, Orca
Huge (Animal)
CR 5
HP 88, hd9d8+48
AC 16 (?2 size, +2 Dex, +6 natural), touch 10, flat-fooded 14
Fort +11, Ref +8, Will +5
Speed Swim 50 ft. (10 squares)
Initiative +2
Spot , Listen
Standard attacks
BAB +6, Grapple +22
Full attack: Bite +12 melee (2d6+12)
Special Attacks/Qualities
Blindsight 120 ft., hold breath, low-light vision
Skills Listen +14*, Spot +14*, Swim +16
Feats Alertness, Endurance, Run, Toughness
Str 27
Con 21
Dex 15
Int 2
Wis 14
Cha 6
Alignment Always neutral,
Environment Cold aquatic,
Organisation Solitary or pod (6?11)

These ferocious creatures are about 30 feet long. They eat fish, squid, seals, and other whales.
Blindsight (Ex): Whales can ?see? by emitting high-frequency sounds, inaudible to most other creatures, that allow them to locate objects and creatures within 120 feet. A silence spell negates this and forces the whale to rely on its vision, which is approximately as good as a human?s.
Hold Breath (Ex): A whale can hold its breath for a number of rounds equal to 8 x its Consitution score before it risks drowning.
Skills: A whale has a +8 racial bonus on any Swim check to perform some special action or avoid a hazard. It can always choose to take 10 on a Swim check, even if distracted or endangered. It can use the run action while swimming, provided it swims in a straight line. *A whale has a +4 racial bonus on Spot and Listen checks. These bonuses are lost if its blindsight is negated.

System Reference Document -> List of Creatures (SRD)
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Whale, Cachalot (Creature)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 10:13 AM
  2. Whale, Baleen (Creature)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 10:13 AM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.