Whale, Cachalot Cachalot Whale
Gargantuan (Animal)
CR 7
HP 141, hd12d8+87
AC 16 (?4 size, +1 Dex, +9 natural), touch 7, flat-fooded 15
Fort +15, Ref +9, Will +6
Speed Swim 40 ft. (8 squares)
Initiative +1
Spot , Listen
Standard attacks
BAB +9, Grapple +33
Full attack: Bite +17 melee (4d6+12) and tail slap +12 melee (1d8+6)
Special Attacks/Qualities
Blindsight 120 ft., hold breath, low-light vision
Skills Listen +15*, Spot +14*, Swim +20
Str 35
Con 24
Dex 13
Int 2
Wis 14
Cha 6
Alignment Always neutral,
Environment Temperate aquatic,
Organisation Solitary or pod (6?11)

Also known as sperm whales, these creatures can be up to 60 feet long. They prey on giant squids.
Blindsight (Ex): Whales can ?see? by emitting high-frequency sounds, inaudible to most other creatures, that allow them to locate objects and creatures within 120 feet. A silence spell negates this and forces the whale to rely on its vision, which is approximately as good as a human?s.
Hold Breath (Ex): A whale can hold its breath for a number of rounds equal to 8 x its Consitution score before it risks drowning.
Skills: A whale has a +8 racial bonus on any Swim check to perform some special action or avoid a hazard. It can always choose to take 10 on a Swim check, even if distracted or endangered. It can use the run action while swimming, provided it swims in a straight line. *A whale has a +4 racial bonus on Spot and Listen checks. These bonuses are lost if its blindsight is negated.

System Reference Document -> List of Creatures (SRD)
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Whale, Baleen (Creature)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 10:13 AM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.