D20:The Shadowstaff Artifact


The Shadowstaff: This artifact was crafted centuries ago, weaving together the wispy strands of shadow itself into a twisted black staff. The Shadowstaff makes the wielder slightly shadowy and incorporeal, granting him a +4 bonus to AC and Reflex saves (which stacks with any other bonuses). However, in bright light (such as that of the sun, but not a torch) or in absolute darkness, the wielder takes a ?2 penalty on all attack rolls, saves, and checks.
The Shadowstaff also has these powers.
  • Summon Shadows: Three times per day the staff may summon 2d4 shadows. Immune to turning, they serve the wielder as if called by a summon monster V spell cast at 20th level.
  • Summon Nightshade: Once per month, the staff can summon a nightcrawler nightshade that serves the wielder as if called by a summon monster IX spell cast at 20th level.
  • Shadow Form: Three times per day the wielder can become a living shadow, with all the movement powers granted by the gaseous form spell.
  • Shadow Bolt: Three times per day the staff can project a ray attack that deals 10d6 points of cold damage to a single target. The shadow bolt has a range of 100 feet.


System Reference Document -> Magic Items: Artifacts
 
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.
 

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. The Orbs of Dragonkind (Artifact)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 09:00 AM
  2. Staff of the Magi (Artifact)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 01:07 AM
  3. Sphere of Annihilation (Artifact)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 12:59 AM
  4. Annulus (Artifact)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 09:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.