A spell?s range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the Range entry of the spell description. A spell?s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell?s effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell?s point of origin. If any portion of the spell?s area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted. Standard ranges include the following.
The spell affects only you.
You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell.
The spell reaches as far as 25 feet away from you. The maximum range increases by 5 feet for every two full caster levels.
The spell reaches as far as 100 feet + 10 feet per caster level.
The spell reaches as far as 400 feet + 40 feet per caster level.
The spell reaches anywhere on the same plane of existence.
[top]Range Expressed in Feet
Some spells have no standard range category, just a range expressed in feet.

System Reference Document
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Spell Descriptor (Term)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 05:26 PM
  2. Spell Feats (SRD)
    By Arjan in forum Category
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 04:23 PM
  3. Spell
    By Arjan in forum Category
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-2006, 08:13 PM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.