D20:Gust of Wind Spell

Gust of Wind
Drd 2, Sor/Wiz 2
V, S
1 standard action
60 ft.
Line-shaped gust of severe wind emanating out from you to the extreme of the range
1 round
Fortitude negates
This spell creates a severe blast of air (approximately 50 mph) that originates from you, affecting all creatures in its path.
A Tiny or smaller creature on the ground is knocked down and rolled 1d4x10 feet, taking 1d4 points of nonlethal damage per 10 feet. If flying, a Tiny or smaller creature is blown back 2d6x10 feet and takes 2d6 points of nonlethal damage due to battering and buffeting.
Small creatures are knocked prone by the force of the wind, or if flying are blown back 1d6x10 feet.
Medium creatures are unable to move forward against the force of the wind, or if flying are blown back 1d6x5 feet.
Large or larger creatures may move normally within a gust of wind effect.
A gust of wind can?t move a creature beyond the limit of its range.
Any creature, regardless of size, takes a ?4 penalty on ranged attacks and Listen checks in the area of a gust of wind.
The force of the gust automatically extinguishes candles, torches, and similar unprotected flames. It causes protected flames, such as those of lanterns, to dance wildly and has a 50% chance to extinguish those lights.
In addition to the effects noted, a gust of wind can do anything that a sudden blast of wind would be expected to do. It can create a stinging spray of sand or dust, fan a large fire, overturn delicate awnings or hangings, heel over a small boat, and blow gases or vapors to the edge of its range.
Gust of wind can be made permanent with a permanency spell.

Back to System Reference DocumentSpells.
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.