A fire elemental cannot enter water or any other nonflammable liquid. A body of water is an impassible barrier unless the fire elemental can step or jump over it.
Fire elementals speak Ignan, though they rarely choose to do so.


A fire elemental is a fierce opponent that attacks its enemies directly and savagely. It takes joy in burning the creatures and objects of the Material Plane to ashes.
Burn (Ex): A fire elemental?s slam attack deals bludgeoning damage plus fire damage from the elemental?s flaming body. Those hit by a fire elemental?s slam attack also must succeed on a Reflex save or catch on fire. The flame burns for 1d4 rounds. The save DC varies with the elemental?s size (see the table below). A burning creature can take a move action to put out the flame. The save DC is Consitution- based.
Creatures hitting a fire elemental with natural weapons or unarmed attacks take fire damage as though hit by the elemental?s attack, and also catch on fire unless they succeed on a Reflex save.
Fire Elemental Sizes
ElementalHeightWeightBurn Save DC
Small4 ft.1 lb.11
Medium8 ft.2 lb.14
Large16 ft.4 lb.17
Huge32 ft.8 lb.22
Greater36 ft.10 lb.24
Elder40 ft.12 lb.26

[top]Small Fire Elemental

[top]Medium Fire Elemental

[top]Large Fire Elemental

[top]Huge Fire Elemental

[top]Greater Fire Elemental

[top]Elder Fire Elemental

[top]See Also:

System Reference Document -> List of Creatures (SRD)
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.