D20:Favorable and Unfavorable Conditions Rules

[top]Favorable and Unfavorable Conditions

[top]Table: Attack Roll Modifiers
Attacker is . . .MeleeRanged
Flanking defender+2?
On higher ground+1+0
Shaken or frightened?2?2
Squeezing through a space?4?4

  1. An entangled character also takes a ?4 penalty to Dexterity, which may affect his attack roll.
  2. The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC. This bonus doesn?t apply if the target is blinded.
  3. Most ranged weapons can?t be used while the attacker is prone, but you can use a crossbow or shuriken while prone at no penalty.

[top]Table: Armor Class Modifiers
Defender is . . .MeleeRanged
Behind cover+4+4
Concealed or invisible? See Concealment ?
Flat-footed (such as surprised, balancing, climbing)+01+01
Grappling (but attacker is not)+01+01, 3
Helpless (such as paralyzed, sleeping, or bound)?44+04
Kneeling or sitting?2+2
Squeezing through a space?4?4

  1. The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.
  2. An entangled character takes a ?4 penalty to Dexterity.
  3. Roll randomly to see which grappling combatant you strike. That defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.
  4. Treat the defender?s Dexterity as 0 (?5 modifier). Rogues can sneak attack helpless or pinned defenders.

Back to System Reference Document -> Combat Rules -> Combat Modifiers
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Aid Another (Rules)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 09:43 PM
  2. Conditions (SRD Rules)
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-15-2007, 12:20 PM
  3. Conditions (Rules)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 02:01 PM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.