D20:Confusion Spell

Brd 3, Madness 4, Sor/Wiz 4, Trickery 4
V, S, M/DF
1 standard action
Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
All creatures in a 15-ft. radius burst
1 round/level
Will negates
This spell causes the targets to become confused, making them unable to independently determine what they will do.
Roll on the following table at the beginning of each subject?s turn each round to see what the subject does in that round.
01?10Attack caster with melee or ranged weapons (or close with caster if attack is not possible).
11?20Act normally.
21?50Do nothing but babble incoherently.
51?70Flee away from caster at top possible speed.
71?100Attack nearest creature (for this purpose, a familiar counts as part of the subject?s self).
A confused character who can?t carry out the indicated action does nothing but babble incoherently. Attackers are not at any special advantage when attacking a confused character. Any confused character who is attacked automatically attacks its attackers on its next turn, as long as it is still confused when its turn comes. Note that a confused character will not make attacks of opportunity against any creature that it is not already devoted to attacking (either because of its most recent action or because it has just been attacked).
Arcane Material Component: A set of three nut shells.

Back to System Reference DocumentSpells.
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Confusion, Lesser (Spell)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 11:55 PM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.