D20:Changestaff Spell

Drd 7
V, S, F
1 round
Your touched staff
1 hour/level (D)
You change a specially prepared quarterstaff into a Huge treantlike creature, about 24 feet tall. When you plant the end of the staff in the ground and speak a special command to conclude the casting of the spell, your staff turns into a creature that looks and fights just like a treant. The staff-treant defends you and obeys any spoken commands. However, it is by no means a true treant; it cannot converse with actual treants or control trees. If the staff-treant is reduced to 0 or fewer hit points, it crumbles to powder and the staff is destroyed. Otherwise, the staff returns to its normal form when the spell duration expires (or when the spell is dismissed), and it can be used as the focus for another casting of the spell. The staff-treant is always at full strength when created, despite any wounds it may have incurred the last time it appeared.
Focus: The quarterstaff, which must be specially prepared. The staff must be a sound limb cut from an ash, oak, or yew, then cured, shaped, carved, and polished (a process requiring twenty-eight days).
You cannot adventure or engage in other strenuous activity during the shaping and carving of the staff.

Back to System Reference DocumentSpells.
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Imbue with Spell Ability (Spell)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 03:25 PM
  2. Spell Resistance (Spell Descriptor)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 05:30 PM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.