D20:Call Lightning Spell

Call Lightning
Drd 3
V, S
1 round
Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
One or more 30-ft.-long vertical lines of lightning
1 min./level
Reflex half
Immediately upon completion of the spell, and once per round thereafter, you may call down a 5-foot-wide, 30-foot-long, vertical bolt of lightning that deals 3d6 points of electricity damage. The bolt of lightning flashes down in a vertical stroke at whatever target point you choose within the spell?s range (measured from your position at the time). Any creature in the target square or in the path of the bolt is affected.
You need not call a bolt of lightning immediately; other actions, even spellcasting, can be performed. However, each round after the first you may use a standard action (concentrating on the spell) to call a bolt. You may call a total number of bolts equal to your caster level (maximum 10 bolts).
If you are outdoors and in a stormy area?a rain shower, clouds and wind, hot and cloudy conditions, or even a tornado (including a whirlwind formed by a djinni or an air elemental of at least Large size)?each bolt deals 3d10 points of electricity damage instead of 3d6.
This spell functions indoors or underground but not underwater.

Back to System Reference DocumentSpells.
This article is a D20 reference page
The System Reference Document is a comprehensive toolbox consisting of rules, races, classes, feats, skills, various systems, spells, magic items, and monsters compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast.

Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Call Weaponry (Power)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 12:50 AM
  2. Call to Mind (Power)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2007, 11:57 PM
  3. Lightning Bolt (Spell)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 04:14 PM


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.