+ Reply to Page
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member Osprey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    York, PA
    Comments
    1,413
    Downloads
    19
    Uploads
    8
    Ruornil's Gift seems to have an error in the spell description...what does this have to do with a domain spell slot for a Magician spell?!?

    Ruornil's Gift
    Transmutation
    Level: Spell 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
    Components: V, S, F (and possibly M/DF, F, and XP)
    Casting Time: 15 minutes
    Range: Personal
    Target: You
    Duration: Instantaneous
    This spell allows clerics of Ruornil to read and prepare a magician spell of one level lower than the spell slot used to memorize Ruornil's Gift. For example, Ruornil's gift, memorized as a 1st level domain spell, could be used to cast a 0-level magician spell. During the spell's 15 minute casting time, you can scan your spellbook (see below) and choose one spell to read and prepare. Once you choose and prepare an arcane spell, you retain it in your mind. The prepared spell occupies the appropriate domain spell slot (this spell is only available as a domain spell) until it is cast.

  2. #2
    Site Moderator Sorontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Comments
    4,108
    Downloads
    55
    Uploads
    1
    I believe the point of the clerical spell is that it allows a cleric of Ruornil to use some spells from a Magician's spelllist. Once the Magician's spell is memorised, it is treated like it is a Clerical domain spell of the equivalent level, i.e., you can't memorise and use it if you don't have a slot for a clerical spell of the suitable level. Once cast, you forget the Magician spell and will have to cast Ruornil's Gift again if you want to reuse it.

    Or do you see another problem?

    Sorontar
    Sorontar
    Information Communication ILLUMINATION!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Osprey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    York, PA
    Comments
    1,413
    Downloads
    19
    Uploads
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Sorontar View Post
    I believe the point of the clerical spell is that it allows a cleric of Ruornil to use some spells from a Magician's spelllist. Once the Magician's spell is memorised, it is treated like it is a Clerical domain spell of the equivalent level, i.e., you can't memorise and use it if you don't have a slot for a clerical spell of the suitable level. Once cast, you forget the Magician spell and will have to cast Ruornil's Gift again if you want to reuse it.

    Or do you see another problem?

    Sorontar
    LOL OK this is my bad..in my mind Domain Spell and Realm Spell were blending together!

    Although I do think that last sentence is what confused me:
    The prepared spell occupies the appropriate domain spell slot (this spell is only available as a domain spell) until it is cast.
    Maybe deleting the last sentence, or removing the parenthetical part, would be better.


Tags for this Page

Similar Pages

  1. Chapter three/Magic/Divine magic
    By Sorontar in forum Birthright Campaign Setting 3.5
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 06:35 AM
  2. Chapter three/Magic/Fundamentals of Cerilian magic
    By Sorontar in forum Birthright Campaign Setting 3.5
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 06:58 AM
  3. Magic Item Descriptions (Rules)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Comments: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 10:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may not edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.