Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member Jaleela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    248
    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    0

    D20:Longbow, Composite (Weapon)

    Discussion thread for D20:Longbow, Composite (Weapon). If you would like to add a comment, click the Post Reply button.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Jaleela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    248
    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    0

    Red face

    Obviously they've never tried using a longbow from horseback. ;-)

    Japanese Longbows can be used mounted as the lower limb is shorter than the upper limb which solves the issue of hitting the horse.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    416
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0
    Look up Composite Bow on wikipedia or in other sources. They were devised primarily for mounted archery. The D&D distinction:
    Short bows are small and weak self bows (single piece of wood).
    Long bows are tall (5ft+) but stronger bows made for being on foot (and out of a single piece of wood).

    Composite bows are much more powerful, built of laminate materials to generate more force in a smaller form factor, thus able to be fired from horseback.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Weapon Equivalencies
    By RaspK_FOG in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 08:23 AM
  2. Theo's Weapon Skills
    By AdamTheo in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2006, 04:56 PM
  3. Weapon Proficiencies
    By Arch-Sorcerer Gargamel in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-05-2002, 05:17 PM
  4. New non-weapon proficiency--Negotiation. Would you use it?
    By Lawgiver in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-22-2002, 02:11 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.