Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Site Moderator Sorontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,942
    Downloads
    23
    Uploads
    1

    BRCS:Chapter nine/Creatures/Blood Hound

    Discussion thread for BRCS:Chapter nine/Creatures/Blood Hound. If you would like to add a comment, click the Post Reply button.

  2. #2
    Site Moderator Sorontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,942
    Downloads
    23
    Uploads
    1

    questioning an error

    This creature is listed in the BRCS with the following:

    Skills: Listen +5, Spot +5, Swim +5, Wilderness Lore +1*
    There is no explanation given for the asterisk. However, there is the following:

    Track Scion (Su): A blood hound gets a +10 bonus on wilderness lore checks when tracking a scion, by scent or otherwise. A blood hound will always recognize a scion for what he is by scent.
    Does anyone know whether the asterisk is related to the bonus for the D&D e3 skill? Or is it supposed to be for something else?

    Sorontar

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    429
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sorontar View Post
    This creature is listed in the BRCS with the following:



    There is no explanation given for the asterisk. However, there is the following:



    Does anyone know whether the asterisk is related to the bonus for the D&D e3 skill? Or is it supposed to be for something else?

    Sorontar
    I think it is related, but I cannot be certain if it's included or not. It's actually been over a year since I DM'd or referenced a monster stat-block.

  4. #4
    Ehrshegh of Spelling Thelandrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Downloads
    64
    Uploads
    0
    I believe that the asterisk means that there are situational skill bonuses which haven't been included. In this case, with only a +1 bonus, their tracking bonus certainly hasn't been included.

    Ius Hibernicum, in nomine juris. Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.

  5. #5
    Site Moderator Sorontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,942
    Downloads
    23
    Uploads
    1
    So is this a standard way of using asterisk then? Or should it be explained more directly in the BRCS? I'm trying to work out what to put on the errata page.

    Sorontar

  6. #6
    Ehrshegh of Spelling Thelandrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Downloads
    64
    Uploads
    0
    I don't think it's ever been explained, actually. I think it's one of those things that you just learn to understand. If you want to add it to the Errata, by all means.

    Ius Hibernicum, in nomine juris. Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Chapter two/Blood and regency/Blood abilities
    By sargor in forum BRWiki Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 10:52 AM
  2. Chapter two/Blood and regency/Blood ability descriptions
    By Dagaron in forum BRWiki Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 11:11 AM
  3. Bloodline hound
    By graham anderson in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-16-2004, 04:34 PM
  4. BRCS Chapter 5
    By Birthright-L in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 03-10-2003, 09:28 AM
  5. BRCS Chapter one
    By jericho in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2003, 02:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.