Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Marquis

  1. #1
    Ehrshegh of Spelling Thelandrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Downloads
    64
    Uploads
    0

    Marquis

    Discussion thread for Marquis.

    I take it that we're using a completely different marquis to either the British or French versions? The British title is very high-ranking, second-only to a duke, whereas in the French system the title was devalued so much that it was ranked only slightly higher than a baron and less than a viscomte.
    Last edited by Thelandrin; 11-13-2008 at 01:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Site Moderator kgauck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    3,562
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    The standard order of French titles is
    * Duc
    * Marquis
    * Comte
    * Vicomte
    * Baron
    * Prince
    * Seigneur

    Aside from not including the petty princes, and calling seigneurs lords, the rank order is the same as British.

    Just as vicomte is an under-count, marquis is an over-count. It seems reasonable to base the marquis on the position of count and step up.

    I'm not sure where the confusion rests.

  3. #3
    Administrator Green Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,012
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0
    Very good Kenneth!

    OK, that wasn't a really meaningful post, but I really liked the Viscount, the link to Markgraf etc. exactly as envisioned And a round of applause is always welcome I suppose.
    Cheers
    Bjørn
    DM of Ruins of Empire II PbeM

  4. #4
    Site Moderator AndrewTall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, England
    Posts
    2,305
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    0
    Hmm, Marquis, where do tents and terrorists come in?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.