Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member Lawgiver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    1,054
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0
    The idea of a source is that it ''is a nexus or collection point where a wizard can harness power of the land to serve his own devices.''.

    If a wizard regent owns a source can their Lieutenants use the regent's sources to cast Realm Spells? According to Seirra's Gorgon's Alliance you can. What are your opinions?
    Servant of the Most High,
    Lawgiver

    Isaiah 1:17
    Learn to do good; Seek justice, Rebuke the oppressor; Defend the fatherless, Plead for the widow.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    144
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Really cannot see why not.
    "Victory has a thousand fathers,defeat is an orphan."

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    50
    Downloads
    17
    Uploads
    0
    Makes sense to me. Maybe they need to get permission though.
    "I did not pass through fire and death to bandy crooked words with a serving man untill the lightning falls!"

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    If the wizard wants, anyone can use the source. If the wizard does not want, they can not tap into the energy. The energy is tied to the wizard and only the wizard can allow someone to tap into it.
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

  5. #5
    Administrator Green Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,012
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0
    The word is "ley link", although this would require the Lt. to have at least a soruce (0) somewhere. So I'd say yes, no reason the Lt. can't when everybody else can ;)
    Cheers
    Bjørn
    DM of Ruins of Empire II PbeM

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Green Knight why couldn't the 2nd in command use the source if he is present where the source is located without ley link?
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Greece[salonica]
    Posts
    1
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I think that the source is bonded by spells only to the wizard(regent or no)who can create it.Think about it m8s.It is a safety rule for the source not to fall in wrong hands!
    Arouk the spondaik

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Sure but why couldn't the wizard let someone else use it, lowering the defenses if he wanted to?
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Your House
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I see no reason why the Wizard can't just let whoever he wants use the source, especially lieutenants. If a lieutentant can be loaned regency and control of other holdings for any purpose, then the lieutenant should be able to be loaned sources and ley lines, without cost, for the lieutenant action. He's still using your regency and GBs, but he must be blooded to wield realm magic.
    Explain how this is a signature, its not my handwriting.

    The hardest part was teaching the bunnies to hug. -Duke Phillips

  10. #10
    Administrator Green Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,012
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0
    Orginally posted by Lord Eldred

    Green Knight why couldn't the 2nd in command use the source if he is present where the source is located without ley link?
    Yes why not? Why not every other wizard that comes along? Fine by me, but then you have just made the ley link action redundant ;)

    They ley link action IS very easy to use: Free, auto, 1RP. Transfers control of specified sources/ley lines for 2 action rounds or until owner wants them back. Requirement: lt. have a source (0) somewhere (creating surces should be a part of his training anyway, realms spells and sources go hand in hand).

    Don't fix if it ain't broken. Use ley link and enjoy a better, more satisfying life !
    Cheers
    Bjørn
    DM of Ruins of Empire II PbeM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.