Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    How do you all rule in regards to the order/sequence in which domain actions occur and take effect? Do you follow the initiative order exactley, or instead do you try and impose some 'logic' on when a realm spell actually takes effect during the action round?

    For example, if a regent casts "Bless Land" on a province, and he also has the intiative, does it occur immediately, or does the spell instead take 2 or 3 weeks to complete, thus coming into effect near the end of the month/action round and allowing others to affect the province prior to the spell occuring?

    So, in the above example, if the bounty of the bless spell happens immediately, then no problem. But if it happens later in the round, then an invading regent who pillages the province wouldn't get the bonuses from the spell in his cash grab would he?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Bless Lands casting time is two to three weeks? I typically have things happen in order of initiative.
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

  3. #3
    Senior Member Lawgiver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    1,054
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0
    The time it takes for Bless Land similar events to take place depends on when the speel is cast. I'm of the opinion that it would in fact take at least a couple of days if not 2-3 weeks to take effect. When cast the spell doesn't just magically create more gold in the land for the regent to collect. Its generated through a series of smaller blessings in which several citizens find their income blessed, thus the overall income is blessed...

    Back to the original question. Regardless of initiative or when the bless spell takes effect (which is generically in the same domain turn, not a specific action) Both events are occuring in the same Domain Turn. According to the rules of conquest and occupation: "A province under enemy control generates no taxation, collection or regency for the province ruler." The question then is does the pillaging apply to income collected in the current domain turn or is it held off until the next turn.

    If it effects the current collection:
    Since taxes are collected during a domain turn (3 actions) if the enemy seizes and occupies a province at any point the income generated for the true ruler is lost. The pillaging force would then have the option to collect "severe taxes" on the province. Since the province level would have normally been 1 level higher due to the bless spell I would rule that it should be one level higher for purposes of pillaging.

    If it does not take place until the following domain turn:
    The pillaging gains no benefit of the bless spell since it will have expired at that point.
    Servant of the Most High,
    Lawgiver

    Isaiah 1:17
    Learn to do good; Seek justice, Rebuke the oppressor; Defend the fatherless, Plead for the widow.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    My vote is that the pillage gains no benefit because the collection of money has already occured in the domain turn that the pillage occured and thus wouldn't happen until the next or would it? Perhaps a pillage would get any money left after the regent paid for upkeep.
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ę2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.