Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Lawgiver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    1,054
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0
    On page 61 of the rulebook it states that raising levies has the potential to lower the province level.

    "Each time a levy is raised, the province is reduced by one level until the levy disbands. A number of militia units up the province's base rating can be created, so a level 3 province can must three companies; this will reduce the province level to 2. ( in the next turn two levies could be raised reducing the level to 1.) The province level remains reduced until the entire levy disbands. If all the militia units are destroyed in battle outside their home province, the province never recovers. (A militia unit defeated on its home ground simply disbands and the province level is restored.)"
    Servant of the Most High,
    Lawgiver

    Isaiah 1:17
    Learn to do good; Seek justice, Rebuke the oppressor; Defend the fatherless, Plead for the widow.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    29
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Sure do. The level only remains lowered until you disband the unit, though, so just be sure to let the boys go home before the end of the domain turn.

    Levies aren't a whole lot of good, but they are particularly good at filling necessary engagements and leaving higher-end troops free to double-up on enemy forces or just keeping them busy until your heavier troops can show up from elsewhere to deliver the victory.

    I typically use them to man fortifications when the PCs launch invasions; the levies go in, the other troops sally forth.

  3. #3
    Administrator Green Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,012
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0
    Yes, but with certain modifications.

    First of all, it doesn't matter WHERE the units die - the province level will be reduced even if they are killed in their home province.

    Secondly, the province level will go back up if a significant number of troops return home - losing 1 levy from a level 7 province won't matter much.

    Thirdly, I use a system of "province growth" that scales province levels in more detail than 0-10. That means the loss of some men can be accurately tracked, even if an entire level isn't lost.
    Cheers
    Bjørn
    DM of Ruins of Empire II PbeM

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Green Knight's modifications make sense. Why is it that the rule was written that the province doesn't recover if they are killed outside of the province but not inside?
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    883
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Orginally posted by Lord Eldred

    Green Knight's modifications make sense. Why is it that the rule was written that the province doesn't recover if they are killed outside of the province but not inside?

    In former times battles were not "to the last man". More often
    when it became clear a battle was lost everyone ran for his live.
    Especially in a levy where no professional soldiers but peasants
    fight. So when a levy fights on it´s own ground and is defeated
    it "disbands" by running into the woods and returning home to their
    houses.
    bye
    Michael

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    United Provinces of Ceril
    Posts
    1,028
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    However, if there is a cavalry or knights, often they ran them down and would kill them to send a message or to prevent them from returning to fight another day.
    Lord Eldred
    High Councilor of the
    United Provinces of Cerilia
    "May Haelyn bring justice to your realm"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.