Hybrid View

Downloads
    Uploads

Domains and subdomains....

So, a lot of Birthright games I've been in of late....people want to add "buildings". Appearently, we grew up on games like Civ, and we want to build things. The Birthright core rules are very abstract. Ruling a province from 3 to 4 may mean adding some graneries, watchtowers, etc.

The newer Paizo kingmaker rules are very much "buildings-oriented", but lack the feudal feel of Birthright.

I wonder if a game might use Birthright for Dukes, but the province level rulers, the various feudal underlings, might be represented by Kingmaker.

We'd need to establish some sort of parity between a gold bar and a build point. I'm just starting out here with some ideas. Anyone have anything to add ?
    I like PBEM's.

Ehrshegh of Spelling Thelandrin's Avatar
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I would have thought the obvious thing to do would be to have a direct equation - 0.5, 1 or 2 GB per BP (if you're using the variable BP cost) or just 2 GB = 1 BP if not.

Ius Hibernicum, in nomine juris. Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I tend to think of a holding level as being a measurement of its resources and assets, not its buildings. For guild holdings, this means more warehouses, workshops and shopfronts but also more trade deals, caravan contracts and market exclusivity. For law holdings, it is garrison buildings and gaols but also city laws and public support. People are just as important as the physical assets. This is why regency has more power than money.

Of course, monuments, trade routes and ports all can play an important role in your prestige and what opportunities are available but it still comes down to how you use them. Likewise, fortification may seem to be an architectural matter but it actually relies on you having a system in place that makes it work. Walls are meaningless if they aren't defended properly with sufficient manpower.

Sorontar
    Sorontar