Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    7
    Downloads
    81
    Uploads
    0

    BR AD&D 2E, rules clarification

    I am just a bit confused with a few domain actions as I read them directly from the original 2nd ed. setting:

    Contest action
    Can Law regents provide their holding level in a contest action between 2 other regents?

    e.g. two guilds contest each other. All regents in the domain can assist anyone with RPs. But who can assist with their holding level?

    Rule action
    Can a Law regent oppose with his holding level the ruling of a province? Can the province ruler oppose the ruling of any holding (except source ofc) using his Province rating?

    And finally. Suppose a province (5) has two Law regents. Both have a Law holding (2). One of the two is the province ruler too. The other one contests the law holding of the ruler. So he must roll d20 and roll over :
    10 (Base) + 2 (opponent's Law) - 2 (his Law) + 5 (opponent's province rating) = 15 ?

  2. #2
    Site Moderator AndrewTall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex, England
    Posts
    2,163
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0
    Oh the fun of remembering what the heck we used to do, and trying to separate canon from house rules in the cobwebs of our minds ;-)

    The Rule action (page 59) notes that "the province ruler and any regent with a similar holding in the province can support or oppose the action by adding or subtracting the level of their own holdings."

    The contest action is silent on such support / opposition. It implies that any two regents can contest each other, although the example unhelpfully is guild v guild, and notes that a contested province with L0 law is freed of the contest not by ruling up the province, but by gaining a law holding - although that might simply be because a peaceful province contest action could only work if no law was held (and the loyalty was poor/rebellious).

    My recollection is suspiciously similar to your note though, a guild can support/oppose guild actions, temple can support oppose temple actions, source can support/oppose source actions, but a law can support/oppose any province, law, guild or temple action - the special power of the law holding compared to the guild power (trade routes) and temple/source power (spells).

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    7
    Downloads
    81
    Uploads
    0
    Many thanks man, that is how i done it till now.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2E rules clarification
    By Mantyluoto in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 10:28 AM
  2. Rules Clarification Regency Col
    By Ed Stark in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-01-1997, 04:36 PM
  3. Rules Clarification Paladin Ava
    By Sean Brown in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-1997, 05:45 AM
  4. Rules Clarification Dwarvish de
    By Andrew Bruce in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-1997, 06:41 AM
  5. Rules Clarification Dwarvish dexter
    By Jan P. M. Arnoldus in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-1997, 10:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.