Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Interactive Birthright Map application - copyright issues ?

Hi,

My name's Alexandre and I've been a fan of Birthright since 1995. I work as a web mapping application developer using OpenSource softwares such as OpenLayers, GeoExt, MapServer, etc.

About two years ago, I contacted Wizard of the Coast with the proposal to freely share an interactive web mapping application I made using the above technologies and paper maps of Faerun I scanned and spatially referenced. The result was a very simple map application that users could pan and zoom pretty much like GoogleMaps and with a basic "overland movement" calculator. That widget was main reason I wanted this application in the beginning: to be able to easily draw a line on the map representing a travel route taken by the players, which gave me the amount of time required to travel depending on the transport used in days and hours.

Now, I'm thinking about doing the same for the new small Birthright campaign I'm about to begin with some local friends. I'd like to create a new version of the application but built on top of Birthright maps.

Sorry for the long story, here are my questions: is it okay if I share my work ? Are the maps copyrighted and wouldn't allow me to share what I'd do ? That's the issue that happened with Wizard of the Coast. They didn't want me to publicly show my application. What about Birthright stuff ?

In brief, I'd do it anyway, but I want to know if I could make my work public. If so, it could lead to a public web site dedicated to the application, plus the source code would be hosted on Github.

Please, let me know how far I can get with this project.

Regards,

Alexandre

As long as you do not charge for your maps you will be fine. I for one would love to see what you have and how extensible your application would be.

Can you do it for the entire continent?

Downloads
    Uploads
    I think you can.