Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Kariu@aol.co
    Guest

    The Pilliaging of the land...

    Hello all I have a few questions.

    First when a province is pillaged down to level 0, if it is pillaged again is
    the province destoryed? What if the action was done just for that purpose?
    And if not, how can one destory a province? Once the province is
    destoryed....what about the sources? In order to build up sources you need
    to create a province. So what happenes when the province goes back to the
    wilds, via....conquest? Does the mage lose all of his sources?

    Under the current rules for occupation on page 66 of the BR-rule book it says
    that when a regent occupies his own province, or another, they may reduce the
    provinces holdings to level 0 at his whim. Now my other question is, does he
    then have to contest to remove the level 0 holding? I know that a level 0
    holding is basically not a holding at all...but it is a start to build more
    influence in a realm...so can it only be destoryed by a political
    contest..and not a declaration of war? Just curious.

  2. #2
    dsbrown@is2.dal.ca (Sean
    Guest

    The Pilliaging of the land...

    >First when a province is pillaged down to level 0, if it is pillaged again is
    >the province destoryed? What if the action was done just for that purpose?
    > And if not, how can one destory a province? Once the province is
    >destoryed....what about the sources? In order to build up sources you need
    >to create a province. So what happenes when the province goes back to the
    >wilds, via....conquest? Does the mage lose all of his sources?

    Well you really can't destroy a province..the land is alway there, so you'd
    have to cause some kind of natural disaster to eliminate it. Once it
    reaches 0, there are no people there to speak of, so the province is
    effectively destroyed I suppose. Mage sources are unaffected by pillaging
    for the purpose of gaining money. Troops must specifically attempt to
    reduce the source potential as a separate action so they are unaffected.
    note that they will not rise as the province level is reduced. They must be
    ruled up.



    >Under the current rules for occupation on page 66 of the BR-rule book it says
    >that when a regent occupies his own province, or another, they may reduce the
    >provinces holdings to level 0 at his whim. Now my other question is, does he
    >then have to contest to remove the level 0 holding? I know that a level 0
    >holding is basically not a holding at all...but it is a start to build more
    >influence in a realm...so can it only be destoryed by a political
    >contest..and not a declaration of war? Just curious.


    I never thought of that. i had always played that the holding was
    completely destroyed..not reduced to level 0.

    Sean

  3. #3
    Brandon Quina
    Guest

    The Pilliaging of the land...

    > Hello all I have a few questions.

    > First when a province is pillaged down to level 0, if it is pillaged
    > again is the province destoryed? What if the action was done just
    > for that purpose? And if not, how can one destory a province? Once
    > the province is destoryed....what about the sources? In order to
    > build up sources you need to create a province. So what happenes when
    > the province goes back to the wilds, via....conquest? Does the mage
    > lose all of his sources?

    No, the province wouldnt be destroyed.. You cant destroy a province,
    as the only thing a 0 level province means is that its been claimed
    by this land or that land.. Id imagine that mages can have sources in
    lands that arnt part of a domain..

    The only way for land to go from being a province to being no province
    is if a person is bloodthefted with tighmaevril.. I suppose that if
    he died without any heirs the provinces would go unclaimed as well..

    > Under the current rules for occupation on page 66 of the BR-rule book
    > it says that when a regent occupies his own province, or another, they
    > may reduce the provinces holdings to level 0 at his whim. Now my
    > other question is, does he then have to contest to remove the level 0
    > holding? I know that a level 0 holding is basically not a holding at
    > all...but it is a start to build more influence in a realm...so can it
    > only be destoryed by a political contest..and not a declaration of
    > war? Just curious.

    First off, contesting isnt political-- if it was, it would be done
    with the decree or diplomact action. Contesting is when you order
    things that will be detrimental to the holding in question.

    Thus, you are confiscating the goods from the guild holding as well
    as not permitting them to leave the lands. Your claiming land on
    which temples are built belongs to the state, and thus forcing them
    off-- its physical action..

    I agree with it, as no matter how hard you try-- You wouldnt beable
    to wipe out EVERY trace of a buisness/temple/law organization with
    the military. There would always be SOME that were hiding and thus
    you were unable to get.. Even if you destroy the level 0 holding,
    you didnt get them all-- you just ruined their influence, they could
    always continue to exert themselves again-- create holding action..

  4. #4
    Darkstar
    Guest

    The Pilliaging of the land...

    Kariu@aol.com wrote:
    >
    > Hello all I have a few questions.
    >
    > First when a province is pillaged down to level 0, if it is pillaged again is
    > the province destoryed? What if the action was done just for that purpose?
    > And if not, how can one destory a province? Once the province is
    > destoryed....what about the sources? In order to build up sources you need
    > to create a province. So what happenes when the province goes back to the
    > wilds, via....conquest? Does the mage lose all of his sources?

    I would say that it would be impossible to destroy a province. After all
    a 0 level province is really nothing more that a area marked out on a
    map so even if someone did kill off everyone and destory all the
    villages and town the area would still be marked of on maps as a
    province.

    > Under the current rules for occupation on page 66 of the BR-rule book it says
    > that when a regent occupies his own province, or another, they may reduce the
    > provinces holdings to level 0 at his whim. Now my other question is, does he
    > then have to contest to remove the level 0 holding? I know that a level 0
    > holding is basically not a holding at all...but it is a start to build more
    > influence in a realm...so can it only be destoryed by a political
    > contest..and not a declaration of war? Just curious.

    I would say that if the ruler wished to destroy the level 0 holding
    he/she could and remove all trace of the offending holding.

    - --
    Ian Hoskins

    e-Mail: hoss@box.net.au
    Home Page: http://www.box.net.au/~hoss
    Page Updates: http://www.box.net.au/~hoss/update.html

    From the Darkness we came.
    And to the Darkness we will return.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Land's Protector
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2009, 02:57 AM
  2. Any Land
    By BRadmin in forum Category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 12:02 AM
  3. Ley of the Land
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 06:39 AM
  4. No man's land?
    By Wolfen in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 07:59 PM
  5. Law of the land
    By John Campbell in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-1997, 07:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.