Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Kariu@aol.co
    Guest

    hello and questions on trade ro

    In a message dated 97-07-24 00:14:25 EDT, you write:

  2. #2
    ┬╝├Ľ ┬┤┬ę┬Ş┬«(Son, Nuree
    Guest

    hello and questions on trade ro

    > From: Malcom Theo McClellan
    > Subject: [BIRTHRIGHT] - hello and questions on trade routes
    >
    > First, for a guildmaster to create a trade route between two provinces,
    > does he need a guild holding in both provinces or just in the one where
    the
    > trade route originates?

    He needs a guild holding only one province. But, at least one guild holding
    should exist in the other province, and he should make a deal with the
    guild. Trade routes generate GBs and RPs only to the creators. But, before
    making the trade route, he must contact with the other guild, rulers of
    both provinces, and owners of the road. Without their permission, he cannot
    maintain the trade route. In the deal, he can promise them to give some
    share.

    It's my thought after reading the rule book. It says that 'if either
    holding is contested, the trade route generate no GBs and RPs'. If guild
    holdings are needed in both province, making a trade route is too
    difficult. And, why the trade is needed within one guild?

    > Second, if the guildmaster is a thief and gains regency from his trade
    > routes, when is the additional recency applied? Before or after domain
    > power and bloodline strength are compared to determine regency gained
    for
    > the domain turn? In other words, is the value of the trade route added
    to
    > the domain power before regency is awarded, or not?

    Trade routes should be counted as a part of domain power.

    > Third, is a trade route a one way deal, or both ways? What I mean by
    that
    > is if a guildmaster has a guild in a forest province and he creates a
    trade
    > route to a mountain province (keeping my first question out of this)
    > generating 5GB a turn, and he also has a guild holding in the mountain
    > province.-----This will sound really absurd, but it's been bugging
    > me----Can the guildmaster then create another trade route from the
    > mountains to the forest, generating another 5GB?

    If a trade route exists between two provinces, no one including the owner
    cannot make another trade route between the same provinces.

    > Fourth, with a seaport trade route, can the other host province be any
    > different terrain province, or only another seaport province?

    Cities of the Sun says that the two province must be either of different
    terrrain types or of different cultures.

    I hope these may help you.

    - - Son, Nuree

  3. #3
    Oscar Finnsson
    Guest

    hello and questions on trade ro

    > Do you think traders from the mountains returm home with their wagon
    > empty
    > after they sell all their goods? Yes, they may. But doing so they
    > cannot
    > gain all the profit. For a larger profit, they will fill their wagon
    > with
    > goods from forests and sell those goods in their home province.
    > Take province A(7) and province B(7) for an example. Two province can
    > hold
    > up to 3 trade routes. If a trade route connects them, it genertate
    > 7GB/turn. If all three trade routes exist between two provinces, they
    > overall generate 21GB/turn! It's a pure profit excluding all costs. Do
    > you
    > think two provinces, however it is developed, can generate so much
    > profit
    > only trading with each other? I don't think so. I think a trade route
    > trades all things and generate all profit it can.

    I think it's a lot unclear with the traderules.We thake the provinces
    A(7) - mountain and A(6) -forest. There are a traderoute between A and
    be that generates 6GB. I'm not sure, because in some places in the
    products it would generate 7GB (see the ships of Anuire sheet). The
    province A could maybe not trade with a forestprovince anymore? Or it
    could maybe trade with a forestprovince more, but that would only count
    as a province (1). Then the A province need to trade with grass, plain,
    dessert and swampprovinces. Couldn't it be so?

    //Finnsson

  4. #4
    Joel Parrish
    Guest

    hello and questions on trade ro

    ======== Original Message ========
    > Do you think traders from the mountains returm home with their wagon
    > empty
    > after they sell all their goods? Yes, they may. But doing so they
    > cannot
    > gain all the profit. For a larger profit, they will fill their wagon
    > with
    > goods from forests and sell those goods in their home province.
    > Take province A(7) and province B(7) for an example. Two province can
    > hold
    > up to 3 trade routes. If a trade route connects them, it genertate
    > 7GB/turn. If all three trade routes exist between two provinces, they
    > overall generate 21GB/turn! It's a pure profit excluding all costs. Do
    > you
    > think two provinces, however it is developed, can generate so much
    > profit
    > only trading with each other? I don't think so. I think a trade route
    > trades all things and generate all profit it can.

    I think it's a lot unclear with the traderules.We thake the provinces
    A(7) - mountain and A(6) -forest. There are a traderoute between A and
    be that generates 6GB. I'm not sure, because in some places in the
    products it would generate 7GB (see the ships of Anuire sheet). The
    province A could maybe not trade with a forestprovince anymore? Or it
    could maybe trade with a forestprovince more, but that would only count
    as a province (1). Then the A province need to trade with grass, plain,
    dessert and swampprovinces. Couldn't it be so?

    //Finnsson
    'unsubscribe birthright' as the body of the message.
    ======== Fwd by: Joel Parrish ========
    Actually, I think the multiple trades routes might work. A trade route would
    be like a road. The amount of trade between two places connected by the road
    would be limited by how much traffic could travel on that road at any one
    time. If you create multiple trade routes, its almost like opening new roads
    or more like expanding old roads. More traffic is possible, therefore
    increasing the amount of trade. The same products are being traded, just at
    a higher volume, thus justifying why the multiple trade routes would
    generate more GB. But maybe at -1 GB per additional trade route.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ply trade
    By BRadmin in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-09-2009, 11:38 AM
  2. Questions/Problems with Trade Route Rules
    By Sathoth in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 03:59 PM
  3. Questions/Problems with Trade Route Rules
    By Sathoth in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 08:34 PM
  4. Trade,
    By James Ruhland in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-1997, 11:33 PM
  5. hello and questions on trade routes
    By Malcom Theo McClellan in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-1997, 10:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ę2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.