Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Vassalage

  1. #1
    Justin Martin
    Guest

    Vassalage

    I hope this question hasn't been posted before, but if it has then I
    apologise since I missed it. But I require a point cleared up about
    vassalage.

    The King in our game has an unfortunately low Bloodline (at least in his
    opinion) and is always complaining (although they usually fall on deaf
    ears) that it is hard for him to build his realm.

    Can he install vassals as rulers in a number of his provinces and give
    them his law holdings within those provinces? When it comes to
    collecting regency, can he can get the sum of his own RP, a
    predetermined number of Rp's from the vassals and demand a tithe as
    well? He might lose a little on the GB's but gain on the RP's.

    Also, do vassals get 3 actions per domain turn or 1 as per the
    lieutenant?

    Thanks

    Justin

  2. #2
    Robin Cantin
    Guest

    Vassalage

    From Justin:
    (...)
    >Can he install vassals as rulers in a number of his provinces and give
    >them his law holdings within those provinces? When it comes to
    >collecting regency, can he can get the sum of his own RP, a
    >predetermined number of Rp's from the vassals and demand a tithe as
    >well? He might lose a little on the GB's but gain on the RP's.
    >Also, do vassals get 3 actions per domain turn or 1 as per the
    >lieutenant?

    The way I see it, that's exactly how it works. You just created your very
    own mini-empire.

    It does seem to be very fine, until you realize two things:

    - - The "High King" must answer for his vassal's actions. If a vassal of
    Avanil raids Boeruine, the Duke of Boeruine might come barging in the
    Prince's court demanding an explanation, an apology, compensation and
    retribution. So choose your vassals wisely; dealing with their antics can
    be a lot of trouble.

    - - The arrangement is based on either good faith or terror and can be broken
    by the vassal. To give part of one's holdings to a vassal is to tak the
    risk of losing them altogether. Dividing it into small bits the King can
    easely bring back into line seems to be a solution, but then it makes more
    vassals to deal with (more potential trouble).

    Robin


    Webmaster of the Direct Democracy Pages
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/AIntro.html
    Les Pages Democratie Directe
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/Introduction.html

  3. #3
    ┬╝├Ľ ┬┤┬ę┬Ş┬«(Son, Nuree
    Guest

    Vassalage

    - ----------
    > From: Justin Martin
    > To: birthright@MPGN.COM
    > Subject: [BIRTHRIGHT] - Vassalage
    > Date: 1997┬│├ó 6┬┐├╣ 13├Ç├Ć ┬▒├Ł┬┐├Ą├Ç├Ć ┬┐├Ç├Ç├╝ 11:29
    >
    > I hope this question hasn't been posted before, but if it has then I
    > apologise since I missed it. But I require a point cleared up about
    > vassalage.
    >
    > The King in our game has an unfortunately low Bloodline (at least in his
    > opinion) and is always complaining (although they usually fall on deaf
    > ears) that it is hard for him to build his realm.
    >
    > Can he install vassals as rulers in a number of his provinces and give
    > them his law holdings within those provinces? When it comes to
    > collecting regency, can he can get the sum of his own RP, a
    > predetermined number of Rp's from the vassals and demand a tithe as
    > well? He might lose a little on the GB's but gain on the RP's.
    >
    > Also, do vassals get 3 actions per domain turn or 1 as per the
    > lieutenant?
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    > Justin
    >
    >> To unsubscribe from this list send mail to majordomo@mpgn.com with the
    line
    > It's my first letter to this Mailing List. I'm a Korean, so, please forgive
    my poor english.

    In my campain, one of my player is a vassal of onther player, one is a
    vassal of an NPC, another player has an NPC vassal.

    I think that a regent can install vassals as rulers of some province. The
    regent and a vassal should decide the amount of GBs and RPs that will be
    given to the regent. If the decision is made, they must seek a priest
    regent to conduct investiture ceremony. From then on, the provinces and
    holding are regarded as the vassal's, and should not counted as the
    regent's domain power. In the next domain turn, the vassal collects RPs and
    taxes from his domain, and give promised GBs and RPs to his lord(original
    regent).

    The RPs given to the regent does not be limited by the BL strength.(Is this
    clear?) If he collected 20 RPs from his domain and it was the limit of his
    bloodline, he now gains 20 + RPs from vassals.

    But there is one unclear thing. When a domain turn ends, there may be loss
    of regency. According to the rules, if one province or many holdings were
    divestitured a regent lose 50% of RPs and 1d3 BL strength. Should the
    vassalage be counted as a divestiture? If so, no one will give his province
    or holding to his vassals. But in the Roesone domain source book(strategy
    and tips?), the author advice install some vassals. So, I conclude that a
    regent should not suffer from loss of regency when he give some province to
    his vassal. But if the vassal declares independance and denies to give the
    promised GBs and RPs, he should suffer from loss of regency.

    This is my house rule. It seems to be good until now.

    - - Son, Nuree

    PS. Did TSR begin shipping the products again?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vassalage
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 11:15 PM
  2. Vassalage?
    By Angelbialaska in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 04:10 AM
  3. Vassalage questions?
    By Soviet in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-1999, 05:12 PM
  4. Vassalage question
    By EJARVIS@yaleads.ycc.yale in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-1998, 09:39 PM
  5. Vassalage
    By Espen A. Johnsen in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-1997, 08:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ę2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.