Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Contes

  1. #1
    verruchter@menagerie.ne
    Guest

    Contes

    Karius,

    >I like your example but in it does not work that way. When Guilder A
    >contests for the second time Guilder B loses just one level not all
    >his guild holdings in the province.

    Okay follow me here because you have this a little confused. Both
    Guilders only have 1 holding each in the province. Each holding has
    "slots" or levels.

    >So now Guilder A would have 3 guild holdings, Guilder B one guild
    >holding, and in the province 5/2 there will be one available guild
    >opening if either one then wishes to rule his guild.

    No Guilder A has *1* level 3 guild holding. Guilder B has *1* level 2
    guild holding. Guilder A contests the *1* level 2 guild holding
    successfully. No regency or gold bars can be generated because the
    trade and influence of that *1* holding is effectively cut off.
    Guilder A successfully contests a second time, the *1* level 2 holding
    is now uncontrolled. Now 2 of the 5 province slots are uncontrolled and
    Guilder A can now rule up his Guild to 5.
    Open your rulebook to page 52. Look at the Contest action. Now look
    just below the little red diamonds. It states (and I quote), "If a
    contested holding is contested a second time, its owner loses the
    holding and its slots become uncontrolled." You are confusing the
    words holding and slots.
    Example: Guilder A has a level 3 holding. Guilder B has a level 2
    holding. Guilder A has 3 "slots". Guilder B has 2 "slots". If the
    holding, being ALL the slots, is contested a second time, its owner
    loses the holding and its slots become uncontrolled.
    You don't contest "slots" which is what you are trying to say.

    Verrucht

    * 1st 2.00 #9097 * Math Problems? Call 1-800-[(10x)(13i).]-[sin(xy)/2.362x].

  2. #2
    Kariu@aol.co
    Guest

    Contes

    Seems as if I, we, were wrong. Contest works as previous listings states.
    You contest the whole holding and not just one slot of the holding.

    Thanks for enlightning me on this matter.

    Kariu

  3. #3
    verruchter@menagerie.ne
    Guest

    Contes

    IM>Seems as if I, we, were wrong. Contest works as previous listings states.
    > You contest the whole holding and not just one slot of the holding.

    IM>Thanks for enlightning me on this matter.

    IM>Kariu

    Thanks for not taking my word for it and running to the folks on AOL to
    verify it.

    Verrucht

    * 1st 2.00 #9097 * Belief is no substitute for arithmetic.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.