Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Contesting

  1. #1
    mhale@tpgi.com.au (mhale
    Guest

    Contesting

    Another question that I'm sure has come up in the past :

    When a regent contests another regents holding (for the second time) does
    all levels of the contested regents holding become uncontrolled ? Or does
    it proceed one level at a time ?

    For e.g. In a province rated 5/2 Guildmaster A has 3 levels and Guildmaster
    B has 2 levels of Guild Holdings. On has first action Guildmaster A
    successfully contests Guildmaster B's holding. (This however only means
    that the holding in question cannot generate income or regency for the
    regent) However on Guildmaster A's second action he contests successfully
    again on Guildmaster B's holding. Does Guildmaster B's holding drop from 2
    to 1 or does he loose control of both levels ? (In fact is his holding
    destroyed completely?)

    hmmm? Look forward to your answers.


    Martin Hale
    mhale@tpgi.com.au

  2. #2
    rcantin@oricom.ca (Robin
    Guest

    Contesting

    >Another question that I'm sure has come up in the past :

    Yep, it did. It's no problem to ask again, though.

    >When a regent contests another regents holding (for the second time) does
    >all levels of the contested regents holding become uncontrolled ? Or does
    >it proceed one level at a time ?

    It seems to me the consensus was that all holdings would fall, not just
    lowered by one. It could seem strange that a holding (1) could bring down
    the entire holding (7), for example, but one of us remarked that since the
    difference between the two holdings is a modifier on the d20 roll, that
    would be a feat worth that result.

    Robin


    Webmaster of the Direct Democracy Pages
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/AIntro.html
    Les Pages Democratie Directe
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/Introduction.html

  3. #3
    Espen A. Johnsen
    Guest

    Contesting

    Good Question.

    Personaly I think It's destroyed.

    The reason for this is that when first contested you can say that the
    other holding ither takes all of the profits/clients/power ( same type of
    holding ) or in case of a difrent holding contesting( like a priest, law or
    wizard holding ) then these use there influence to totaly crush the holding by
    any means posible( religious, military, magic( curse ) ).

    On the second contests the holding in question is bearly holding
    together and when contested the other holding goes and finds all of the
    contested holdings "employes" and ither kills them or the "employes" flee.
    Then the contester goes about systematical "destruction" of all
    buildings/conections belonging to the now crushed Holding. The effect of a King
    trying to stop this prosess can be shown by using RP against the contestion,
    otherwise it can be assumed that the encounters with the law are included in the
    Contestion.

    That's how I picture it anyway.

    Espen Johnsen

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Contesting
    By Oyvind Gronnesby in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-1998, 12:18 PM
  2. Contesting sources.
    By Gary V. Foss in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-1998, 08:19 AM
  3. Contesting/Rule RPS
    By Robert Harper in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-1998, 04:09 AM
  4. Contesting provinces
    By Solmyr in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-1998, 07:17 AM
  5. Contesting provinces
    By Solmyr in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-1998, 07:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.