Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Occupations

  1. #1
    Sean Brown
    Guest

    Occupations

    > From: 802967876@RUMAC.UPR.CLU.EDU
    > Date: Tue, 8 Apr 1997 11:20:43 -0400
    > To: birthright@MPGN.COM
    > Subject: [BIRTHRIGHT] - Occupations
    > Reply-to: birthright@MPGN.COM

    > In the rule it books it says that when a ruler has take a province and
    > is ocupiying it, he can destroy all holdings of other regents. My question is:
    > Does he destroy only the enemy's law holdings or does this include the temple
    > and guild holdings too?

    As far as we (my group) is concerned, you can destroy any or all
    holdings of any type, providing you are abl;e to hole the province
    unapposed for one round.
    > Also, the book says that sources can be brought down by one level.
    > How can an army affect a province's magical level? By raking the soil with with
    > salt?

    Actually, I don't think this is too far of the mark. Magical energy
    (can't spell the other word right now :) ) is greatly dependant on
    the natural surrou[ndings of the land (hence different values for
    different terrain types). By spending a domain round pillaging the
    realm (burning, sowing salt, etc) you can effectively destroy the
    natural surroundings of the land, thereby reducing its magic
    potential.

    Sean

  2. #2
    Mike Carscadden
    Guest

    Occupations

    I think the way the occupation thing works is two pronged; first
    occupying your own provinces and occupying other regents provinces.
    Occupying your own provinces goes like this; you order an army unit or
    units to burn down shops(Guilds), defile churches(Temple), and thrash
    sacred sites(Source), plus I guess you could trash someone else's Law if
    they had any. The only problem is is that if you do this your loyalty
    goes down by one. For occupying other regents provinces you can do two
    things. You can do the same as you can in your own provinces, providing
    there are no enemy units in the province. You can also pillage the land
    as detaild on page 66 of the rulebook.

    MJC

  3. #3
    Ian Hoskins
    Guest

    Occupations

    On 09-Apr-97, 802967876@rumac.upr.clu.edu set out across the seas with this
    message:
    - ->In the rule it books it says that when a ruler has take a province and
    - ->is ocupiying it, he can destroy all holdings of other regents. My question
    - ->is:
    - ->Does he destroy only the enemy's law holdings or does this include the
    temple
    - ->and guild holdings too?

    An occuping force can destroy all or none of the holdings in the province. If
    the invader is intending on keeping the province it wouldn't be a good idea to
    destroy everything, only the law holdings.
    Also in a regents own provinces the only way to destroy guild, law, or temples
    that may be bothering him is to declare war on his own province and occupy it
    with his troops, and then destroy the unwanted holdings.

    - ->Also, the book says that sources can be brought down by one level.
    - ->How can an army affect a province's magical level? By raking the soil with
    - ->with salt?

    That would be one way, otherwise polluting streams, burning forests etc may
    destroy some sources.

    - --
    Darkstar

    hoss@box.net.au
    http://www.box.net.au/~hoss/index.html

    From the Darkness we came
    And to the Darkness we must return.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Occupations
    By 802967876@RUMAC.UPR.CLU. in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-1997, 03:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.