Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Gronko@aol.co
    Guest

    Rules Interpertation

    Ok, I don't have my books on me, so forgive any inconsistencies....

    In the campaign I am gearing up to run, one of the major NPC's has the blood
    ability from "Blood Enemies" that makes him invulnrable. That is, he can't
    die
    from normal wounding, only under specific conditions will this person
    actually
    die. Other conditions will have him look dead, but he will regenerate like a
    troll
    until he is back to normal health. I set this fella up with the condition
    that acid
    will do permanent damage to him; and placed a sizeable enough pool of acid
    in the area so that eventually the PC's can figure out how to get him, and
    find
    the acid via adventure, such that in the far off grand confrontation, they
    *do* have
    a chance to kill him for real. (I'm planning on giving them a couple of
    chances
    beforehand so they can "kill" him and then he comes back)

    My question is this: What happens when such an invulnrable character (who's
    blooded obviously) takes a shot through the heart??? This won't kill him as
    it will
    others, but I would think bloodtheft should occur. And if it does, what's
    that leave
    him with?? Does the sword through the heart negate his blooded ability as the
    bloodtheft occurs; or does the bloodtheft occur and leave him with a reduced
    bloodline, or a compeltely absent one???


    Any ideas on this are appreciated,

    Craig

  2. #2
    Jaanus Lillenberg
    Guest

    Rules Interpertation

    Hello

    Craig wrote:

    > In the campaign I am gearing up to run, one of the major NPC's has the blood
    > ability from "Blood Enemies" that makes him invulnrable. That is, he can't
    > die

    > him with?? Does the sword through the heart negate his blooded ability as the
    > bloodtheft occurs; or does the bloodtheft occur and leave him with a reduced
    > bloodline, or a compeltely absent one???


    I guess..

    One way to make it work is you should state it with the special circumstances at
    giving the ability to the NPC.

    If I were handling such PC I would rule his bloodline is invulnerable too.
    Even by piercing through the heart.

    Another way is that the person is losing all blood abilities but
    the one that prevents him from dying. And if he regenerates it also
    receives back the abilities.

    Third and maybe the funniest way is when the NPS is pierced through the
    heart PC gains still whatever bloodline points he should get
    and even maybe roll for new ability etc. but when the NPC regenerates,
    and his bloodline strength also regenerates and thus draining
    the points back the PC gained. :)
    That would also be a hint to PCs that something's wrong with the
    particular awnshegh.

    Thats for now..
    Sincerely yours

    Jaanus Lillenberg
    - ---
    jaanusl@postimees.ee

  3. #3
    Jonathan Picklesimer
    Guest

    Rules Interpertation

    Hail and Well Met,

    I think that Jaanus' last sugguestion is probably pretty close to
    accurate on the way to play a heart stab with an Awnshegh with the
    invulnerability blood ability. It would really freak your players out to
    have their newly acquired blood points drained back, and may even be a less
    than pleasurable experience. Another option is to have them battle it
    until it was incapable of fighting back, do the blood theft thing, then
    acidify it. These actions should insure the passing of the bloodline.

    I would love to see the faces on a group of PCs if they stabbed an
    awnshegh through the heart just to have it look at them and laugh! I
    might play it as though the blood theft thrust would not affect the
    awnshegh until he was sufficiently weak that you could acidify him. If
    you did not acidify him, then your newfound abilities would be lost.

    Just my 2 GB worth. :)

    Thak Stonehead

  4. #4
    Undertaker
    Guest

    Rules Interpertation

    At 11:31 AM 1/7/97 -0500, Craig(Gronko@aol.com)wrote:
    >
    >In the campaign I am gearing up to run, one of the major NPC's has the blood
    >ability from "Blood Enemies" that makes him invulnrable. That is, he can't
    >die
    >from normal wounding, only under specific conditions will this person
    >actually
    >die. Other conditions will have him look dead, but he will regenerate like a
    >troll
    >until he is back to normal health. I set this fella up with the condition
    >that acid
    >will do permanent damage to him;
    >

    >
    >My question is this: What happens when such an invulnrable character (who's
    >blooded obviously) takes a shot through the heart??? This won't kill him as
    >it will
    >others, but I would think bloodtheft should occur. And if it does, what's
    >that leave
    >him with?? Does the sword through the heart negate his blooded ability as the
    >bloodtheft occurs; or does the bloodtheft occur and leave him with a reduced
    >bloodline, or a compeltely absent one???
    >

    I don't think you should allow Bloodtheft, from a heart shot, with a NPC
    that has this Bloodability. The theft should only occur when they are
    permanently killed. Otherwise your NPC will quickly dissolve into a minor
    threat. Of course if the theft does occur, it might drive the NPC into a
    terrified rage. Causing him to hunt, and kill a Blooded individual(or maybe
    a few), just to boost his own power. This way the NPC will be a little
    different each time the PCs encounter him. In this case the NPC should have
    his Bloodline reduced slightly, say 1/4 of it lost, each time he is
    "killed". If it drops below 4 he should lose all his Bloodabilities. The
    problem here is the NPC will become as frightned of his non-permanent
    deaths, as he would be of a permanent one, and the power would lose a lot of
    the gutsy drama it can inspire.

    Undertaker, richt@metrolink.net
    RL Homepage: http://www.metrolink.net/~veleda/sepulcher.html

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aid Another (Rules)
    By Arjan in forum D20 system reference document
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 09:43 PM
  2. RE: Okay - here are my rules, if I`
    By Steve Wales in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-1999, 04:17 PM
  3. Everybody Rules
    By Binagran in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-1998, 04:07 AM
  4. My rules
    By Tripp Elliott in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-1997, 09:49 PM
  5. My Rules
    By Tripp Elliott in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-1997, 09:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.