Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Gorgon`s Rampage and Elementals

    OK, here's why I actually brought up this question (or added on to an
    existing question, I'm not sure anymore. In my campaign, when the gorgon
    finally did decide to get off his stony butt and go on a rampage (now
    remember, when the campaign is intended to start, he's a little overdue
    to attack, when he attacked imc, it was about 40 years later than that),
    he depopulated pretty much the entire Gorgon's Crown. I figured he of
    all people could do that, especially given 20 or 30 years devoted only
    to that. Now when he left with this massive army, I had him leave a
    couple units behind, first, guarding his castle, was a unit or two of
    special troops more or less comparable to the special units of other big
    organizations (Anuire, Cuireacen, Haelyn, Ghoere, Mhoried). Also, I
    decided that he had managed to muster an entire unit of Ice Giants and
    convince them to housesit for him while he was gone (yeah, it would have
    been nice if they'd've gone along and destroyed, but it was a little
    warm yet and also for the reasons below).
    I'd better make my distinction of unit here. I don't like the idea of
    each unit being roughly equivalent to every other unit, with only the
    size differing (that is 200 hill giants, instead of being *far* nastier,
    is just split up into 20 units). The system I use, based on the skirmish
    rules, figures the definition of a unit on a sliding scale, with the
    smallest concentration of troops being the definition of a 'unit' (i.e.
    if there are only 50 of x on the battlefield, then all 200 troop units
    are split in 4). So I'm talking 200 ice giants here (yes it was noted
    that there just might not be that many in those mountains).
    Now here's where the difficulty comes in to play. The party never
    managed to trounce the Gorgon enough to make a counterattack, and they
    weren't exactly ingenious enough to sneak around the back and cut him
    off by taking over his homeland, so it never came into play but!... Ice
    giants can summon Water Elementals. I use the Priest rules and rolls
    when they summon 'em, so a unit of one is more or less equal to a unit
    of the other. Now there's a Unit of Water Elementals, raring to go, and
    not worrying about concentration or control and in this situation
    certainly not morale! Aside from the fact that the thought of 200 of
    these guys is sort of scary, what if they're immune? And when they can
    be resummoned daily, a good leader (and I've never accused Ice Giants of
    not having tactical skills) only need worry about the non-renewable
    resource, the giants themselves.
    Thx,
    AlaricTo unsubscribe from this list send mail to majordomo@lists.imagiconline.com
    with the line

  2. #2
    Pieter Sleijpen
    Guest

    Gorgon`s Rampage and Elementals

    Don't you need a huge body of the original element before you can summon
    such an elemental? Of coarse, for earth and air elementals this is
    hardly a hindrance, but for fire and water elementals this can be quite
    difficult to achieve (on sea or a large lake change earth for water).

    Pieter SleijpenTo unsubscribe from this list send mail to majordomo@lists.imagiconline.com
    with the line

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Censer of Controlling Air Elementals
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  2. Brazier of Commanding Fire Elementals
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  3. Bowl of Commanding Water Elementals
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  4. Stone of Controlling Earth Elementals
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  5. Elementals at WAR
    By Brett Lang in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-24-1998, 11:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.