Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Olesens
    Guest

    holding/province level modifier

    JNeighb934@aol.com wrote:

    > In an action such as Rule, any regent with a similar holding in the province
    > or the province ruler can support or oppose the Rule attempt by subtracting
    > or adding, respectively, his holding or province level to the action success
    > roll. My players have argued that if a regent is ruling up, say, a guild
    > level 3 to a level 4, then that regent should be able to use his existing
    > level 3 guild as a positive modifier to his action roll. I ruled against
    > this, stating that only other regents could affect the roll in that way; the
    > Ruling (as in the domain action) regent could not use his current holding or
    > province level to affect the roll. Even though I understand my players'
    > reasoning for believing a regent should be able to use his current
    > holding/province level as a positive modifier, I disallowed it because I feel
    > it makes it too easy for the character to Rule up and is a loophole to save
    > RP. IMO, just being able to rule up in the first place is indicative enough
    > of the regent's influence in the province without the added benefit of a
    > freebie and automatic positive modifier.
    > How do some of you other DMs out there rule on this?

    Well I've seen one version where rule is 20+ and you can use the holding as a
    positive modifier. IMC, I put out that loophole with a DM Decree Action: "Tough
    luck, that doesn't work." I also ruled that only law holdings and similar
    holding types may oppose or support a rule action (It keeps province rulers from
    getting to use thier province level). When ruling provinces I use the target
    level as a negative modifier to the 10+. In addition I use a chart of modifiers
    for the action. The chart is based on how filled the guild/temple/law slots are,
    how safe the province location is, etc. If you want it I can email you the HTML
    file.

  2. #2
    Memnoch
    Guest

    holding/province level modifier

    You were correct on your ruling for the following reason:

    A holding that is subject to the Rule action cannot be used to modify it's
    own action. Thus, a level 3 province being ruled up to a level 4 province
    with a success number of 14+ cannot be used to bring that success number
    back down to 11+.

    Now, if a thief were ruling a guild holding from 3 to 4 in a province owned
    by a fighter that was level 6, could have his success number modified, up or
    down by the fighter by 6 points. Thus, if the fighter were opposing the
    rule action, the resulting success number for the guild being ruled would be
    20+. If the fighter were supporting the action, the ultimate success number
    would be 8+

    Hope this helps.

    Memnoch
    - -----Original Message-----
    From: JNeighb934@aol.com
    To: birthright@mpgn.com
    Date: Sunday, April 25, 1999 1:07 AM
    Subject: [BIRTHRIGHT] - holding/province level modifiers


    |In an action such as Rule, any regent with a similar holding in the
    province
    |or the province ruler can support or oppose the Rule attempt by subtracting
    |or adding, respectively, his holding or province level to the action
    success
    |roll. My players have argued that if a regent is ruling up, say, a guild
    |level 3 to a level 4, then that regent should be able to use his existing
    |level 3 guild as a positive modifier to his action roll. I ruled against
    |this, stating that only other regents could affect the roll in that way;
    the
    |Ruling (as in the domain action) regent could not use his current holding
    or
    |province level to affect the roll. Even though I understand my players'
    |reasoning for believing a regent should be able to use his current
    |holding/province level as a positive modifier, I disallowed it because I
    feel
    |it makes it too easy for the character to Rule up and is a loophole to save
    |RP. IMO, just being able to rule up in the first place is indicative
    enough
    |of the regent's influence in the province without the added benefit of a
    |freebie and automatic positive modifier.
    |How do some of you other DMs out there rule on this?
    |************************************************* **************************
    ||'unsubscribe birthright' as the body of the message.
    |

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Nether-Netherland
    Posts
    309
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    holding/province level modifier

    > In an action such as Rule, any regent with a similar holding in the province
    > or the province ruler can support or oppose the Rule attempt by subtracting
    > or adding, respectively, his holding or province level to the action success
    > roll. My players have argued that if a regent is ruling up, say, a guild
    > level 3 to a level 4, then that regent should be able to use his existing
    > level 3 guild as a positive modifier to his action roll. I ruled against
    > this, stating that only other regents could affect the roll in that way; the
    > Ruling (as in the domain action) regent could not use his current holding or
    > province level to affect the roll. Even though I understand my players'
    > reasoning for believing a regent should be able to use his current
    > holding/province level as a positive modifier, I disallowed it because I feel
    > it makes it too easy for the character to Rule up and is a loophole to save
    > RP. IMO, just being able to rule up in the first place is indicative enough
    > of the regent's influence in the province without the added benefit of a
    > freebie and automatic positive modifier.
    > How do some of you other DMs out there rule on this?

    Well, the level you're tryin to rule up to always works as a _penalty_ IMC
    - - you get no bonuses whatsoever for your current level, though you might
    get a bonus if you rule the province where you're tryin to rule a holding
    or if you've got other holdings in the province, but that's on a
    case-by-case basis.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Province holding
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2009, 08:34 AM
  2. Holding level
    By Sorontar in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 03:41 AM
  3. Holding/Province Income Formula
    By Arentak in forum BRCS 4th Edition
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 02:04 PM
  4. Fortified province or holding
    By Arjan in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2003, 03:16 PM
  5. holding/province level modifiers
    By JNeighb934@aol.co in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-1999, 07:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.