Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Pieter Sleijpen
    Guest

    RP and granting it to others...

    A very short question:

    Can you grant RP to other regents as if it is gold?

    In my opinion this is not the case, why else that expensive way of
    transfering RP by a investiture action?

    Pieter Sleijpen

  2. #2
    Mark A Vandermeulen
    Guest

    RP and granting it to others...

    On Wed, 21 Apr 1999, Pieter Sleijpen wrote:

    > A very short question:
    >
    > Can you grant RP to other regents as if it is gold?
    >
    > In my opinion this is not the case, why else that expensive way of
    > transfering RP by a investiture action?

    I would say that you could donate RP to anyone with whom you've forged an
    "official connection." That should include formal allies and "official
    guilds/state religions/court wizards," and of course vassals. If you want
    to rule that those arraingements require specialized forms of the
    intestiture ceremony, that sounds logical to me.

    Mark VanderMeulen
    vander+@pitt.edu

  3. #3
    Site Moderator geeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,181
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    7

    RP and granting it to others...

    Mark A Vandermeulen wrote:

    > On Wed, 21 Apr 1999, Pieter Sleijpen wrote:
    >
    > > A very short question:
    > >
    > > Can you grant RP to other regents as if it is gold?
    > >
    > > In my opinion this is not the case, why else that expensive way of
    > > transfering RP by a investiture action?
    >
    > I would say that you could donate RP to anyone with whom you've forged an
    > "official connection." That should include formal allies and "official
    > guilds/state religions/court wizards," and of course vassals. If you want
    > to rule that those arraingements require specialized forms of the
    > intestiture ceremony, that sounds logical to me.

    I don't think a regent can "donate" RP (that is, transfer them to another
    regents "pool" of regency where they can be used at the other's discretion)
    without an investiture action or having already established a vassalage
    agreement, which requires an investiture anyway. Note, however, that you can
    "contribute" RP to modify the domain action of another regent if it is
    occurring in any province in which the contributing regent has influence.

    Gary

  4. #4
    RocksHope@aol.co
    Guest

    RP and granting it to others...

    In a message dated 4/20/99 6:57:14 PM Eastern Daylight Time, vander+@pitt.edu
    writes:

  5. #5
    Mark A Vandermeulen
    Guest

    RP and granting it to others...

    On Tue, 20 Apr 1999 RocksHope@aol.com wrote:

    > But LTs cannot be granted RPs, how much more of an "official connection" can
    > you have? The LT is your right hand, he can freely use any of your holdings,
    > spend your gold, but he can't use your RPs.
    >
    > Supporting an ally is one thing, _if_ the means to do so is possible. But
    > casually granting RPs away is kind of silly. If you can't use RPs normally
    > in the rules (for example you have a guild, and two temples are contesting
    > each other), then you shouldn't be able to give one of the contesting guilds
    > the RPs to influence it. You've just directly destroyed one of the
    > rules/premises of the game.

    Thats a good point, but we already know that RP's CAN be transfered from
    one individual to another via at least the vassalage investiture, and I
    fail to see why, if that is so, such ceremonies are not capable of doing
    similar things. But perhaps that may become clear on further thought.
    Perhaps it has something to do with the lieutennant not actually being
    a regent--perhaps these necessary "reservior space" or whatever necessary
    for holding a Regency Pool only exists when you own a "connection to the
    land/people" in the form of a domain. Thus lieutennants, not being
    regents in their own right, cannot "hold onto" regency points. They are
    just not properly equipped until they become regents.

    Mark VanderMeulen
    vander+@pitt.edu

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.