Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    159
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a lieutenant to a temple regent cast realm spells through his employer's temples? In other words, if a temple holder has a priest lieutenant, can that lieutenant use his action to cast realm spells?

    In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources of his own? Can he learn realm spells, and cast them if he is a lieutenant to a source holder?

    ******************
    Aleksei Andrievski
    aka Solmyr, Archmage of the Azure Star
    aka Azure Star Dragon
    solmyr@kolumbus.fi
    http://www.geocities.com/TimesSquare/Fortress/2198/index.html

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    85
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    >From: Aleksei Andrievski

    >I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a lieutenant
    to >a temple regent cast realm spells through his employer's temples? In
    other >words, if a temple holder has a priest lieutenant, can that
    lieutenant use his >action to cast realm spells?

    In addition to the points raised by others I would add that a strict
    interpretation of the rules has it that a Lt. can only perform domain
    actions and not realm actions. All realm spells would be classed imo
    as realm actions but YMMV.

    >In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources of his
    >own? Can he learn realm spells, and cast them if he is a lieutenant to a
    >source holder?

    Nope you have to have a source. All of the spells have minimum source
    requirements in addition to the actual RP's required just as Clerics
    haqve minimum Temple levels.

    L8R
    Don Lail

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Nether-Netherland
    Posts
    309
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    > I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a lieutenant to a temple regent cast realm spells through his employer's temples? In other words, if a temple holder has a priest lieutenant, can that lieutenant use his action to cast realm spells?
    > In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources of his own? Can he learn realm spells, and cast them if he is a lieutenant to a source holder?

    IMC, that would be no on both accounts. However, if you as a DM want to
    let your players run wild with Realms Spells, then that's up to you. I
    wouldn't advise it though.

    - the Falcon

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    159
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    >IMC, that would be no on both accounts. However, if you as a DM want to
    >let your players run wild with Realms Spells, then that's up to you. I
    >wouldn't advise it though.
    >
    Okay, but then the regent of, for example, Ariya (a paladin) gets the shaft since he can't cast realm spells himself and couldn't use his louies to cast them either...

    ******************
    Aleksei Andrievski
    aka Solmyr, Archmage of the Azure Star
    aka Azure Star Dragon
    solmyr@kolumbus.fi
    http://www.geocities.com/TimesSquare/Fortress/2198/index.html

  5. #5
    Trizt
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    Solmyr of the Azure Star wrote:
    > I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a lieutenant to a temple regent
    > cast realm spells through his employer's temples? In other words, if a temple holder has a
    > priest lieutenant, can that lieutenant use his action to cast realm spells?
    Nope, s/he has to be regent of his own church to be able to cast the
    realmspell.

    > In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources of his own? Can he learn
    > realm spells, and cast them if he is a lieutenant to a source holder?
    The wizard wouldn't be albe to use his masters source, not without
    proper prodecure for borrowing source from his master (explained in
    BoM). Both the Lieutenant wizard and priest can learn the spells from
    their masters.

    //Trizt

  6. #6
    Kenneth Gauck
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    >Okay, but then the regent of, for example, Ariya (a paladin) gets the shaft
    since he >can't cast realm spells himself and couldn't use his louies to
    cast them either...

    But he could make a Lieutenant into a Vassal.

    KG

  7. #7
    Jim Cooper
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    Solmyr of the Azure Star wrote:
    > I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a lieutenant to a temple regent cast realm spells through his employer's temples? In other words, if a temple holder has a priest lieutenant, can that lieutenant use his action to cast realm spells?<

    This question came up in my campaign as well, and we decided that no,
    they couldn't. A priest, like wizards, must be tied to the holding in
    order to cast the spell. However, we did, like the BoM, create a spell
    under the ALL sphere that allows Pr regents to 'borrow' their holdings
    out to other priests on a need-to-need basis.

    > In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources of his own? Can he learn realm spells, and cast them if he is a lieutenant to a source holder?

    See the BoM - there is a spell that allows this to occur.

    Cheers,
    Darren

  8. #8
    Jim Cooper
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    Solmyr of the Azure Star wrote:
    > Okay, but then the regent of, for example, Ariya (a paladin) gets the shaft since he can't cast realm spells himself and couldn't use his louies to cast them either...<

    Thats right! So sad, no? But that's what is cool about BR - power
    gaming is ruthlessly oppressed! Thank you BR guys!

    Cheers,
    Darren

  9. #9
    JulesMrshn@aol.co
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    Actually, Priestly Magic is different form regular magic. Coppertive Magic
    (ToM) can be used to cast realm spells. If the Palladin can cast a 1st level
    spell, he can link with preists and cast the spells. This way realm spells
    can be cast, but are limited by the Paladin's Casting ability. The priests
    need to be blooded. I also make him use 2 priests per spell level and have a
    success roll. It starts at 20, and can be modifed by 1 for each extra priest
    pair and by RP.
    I use this rule, and find it adds to the campaign when they get higher in
    levels. Also remember blooded preists should not exist in plenty and those
    linking I require to be lts at least.

    Rangers can't do this because they are too self reliant to use linking magic.

  10. #10
    Pieter Sleijpen
    Guest

    Realm spells and lieutenants

    Jim Cooper wrote:
    >
    > Solmyr of the Azure Star wrote:
    > > I have a question: can a priest who is not a regent but rather a
    > > lieutenant to a temple regent cast realm spells through his
    > > employer's temples? In other words, if a temple holder has a priest
    > > lieutenant, can that lieutenant use his action to cast realm
    > > spells?
    >
    > This question came up in my campaign as well, and we decided that no,
    > they couldn't. A priest, like wizards, must be tied to the holding in
    > order to cast the spell. However, we did, like the BoM, create a
    > spell under the ALL sphere that allows Pr regents to 'borrow' their
    > holdings out to other priests on a need-to-need basis.

    Personly I would allow lieutenants to cast priestly realm spells. This
    explains why non-priests become temple regents (most of the time
    paladins, but in the Dacondragh area there is a fighter regent of the
    Shield of Halaia), else the temple would be insane to make them the
    boss. Afterall, realm spells are one of the main sources of power the
    temple holds over the other domain types. Since it is a domain action
    the lieutenant will be able to cast only 1 realm spell each turn and no
    other realm or domain actions is allowed. Off coarse the lieutenant also
    must be blooded.

    > > In a similar manner, what about a true wizard that holds no sources
    > > of his own? Can he learn realm spells, and cast them if he is a
    > > lieutenant to a source holder?
    >
    > See the BoM - there is a spell that allows this to occur.

    It is not a spell, but a free action from the wizard regent, called 'Ley
    line link' that costs 1 RP. Officialy the wizard who borrows the ley
    line must have a magical source, but in my opinion that is not needed.
    Afterall in the same paragraph it is written that this action can be
    used to teach an apprentice about realm magic. I doubt an apprentice
    allready has got magical sources.

    Pieter Sleijpen

    P.S. Since you could concider bards magicians (except that they can cast
    enchantment/charm spells also), would they be able to cast battle
    spells? I know that rangers and paladins can not cast battle spells, so
    bards probably also can not cast them. But what are your thoughts on
    this subject?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Realm Spells
    By RaspK_FOG in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 10:53 PM
  2. Realm spells as Epic Spells
    By DanMcSorley in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 12:33 AM
  3. [BIRTHRIGHT] Realm spells as Epic Spells
    By geeman in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-10-2003, 11:29 PM
  4. New Realm Spells Pt. 2
    By Craig Greeson in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-1997, 07:47 PM
  5. Realm Spells
    By Espen A. Johnsen in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-12-1997, 02:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.