Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Hjelme
    Guest

    Rules questions -Wraith

    Hi.

    It's me again.

    Wraith, well or Hjelme (that's my real name in case you thought wraith was
    it =))

    First of all I'd like to thank you all for the warm welcome and the
    response. Thanx!
    You've been most helpful and I'm loaded with ideas (Only seeds at this
    moment. I can tell you about them when I've done some elaboration).

    The reason I'm writing this time is just some rules question I'd hope you
    could help me with. Please?

    The first question is about trading.
    Is it just me or is the rules about trading a little “thin”?
    On page 35 in the rulebook they say something about a level to reflect the
    importance of the trade route. This is the only place I've seen this in a
    book and it doesn't say how the level affects it. I just didn't get this
    one. Have I overlooked something or am I just retarded?
    The book (on the next page) also states that roads and guild holdings must
    support the trade routes. I have no questions about the roads. It's the
    holdings I'm wondering about.
    Do you have to have guild holdings in both “ends” of the trading route?
    Does the level of the guilds affect the income in any way (If you ask me it
    should.)?


    The second question is about loyalty.
    To whom does the loyalty rules apply?
    I can see that loyalty rules are important to the ruler of a province, but
    do it apply to other regents also? Like priests and their religions for
    example?


    Third question, diplomacy.
    If two parts meet to discuss an issue, does both parts need to spend a
    diplomacy action?
    In my case the ruler of Ilien is traveling to Medoere to discuss an
    alliance. I'm sure Mr. Aglondier needs to spend an action, sure. But do the
    PC ruler need?


    Fourth question, army units and their owners.
    OK, who in a province is allowed to keep army units? I'm sure this is up
    to the ruler of the province, but is there any way a NPC regent can raise a
    small army without being noticed?


    Fifth question, still army units.
    On “table 21 basic unit types” in the rulebook (p. 61) there this thing
    called Req'ts.
    What is that and what's those L's beneath? Does this have anything to do
    with requirements for mustering that particular unit?

    And that's about it.

    I appreciate al the help I can get and once again thanx for the help on the
    adventures.
    I'm still open fore more though =).

    - -Wraith

    BTW: Have anyone made any low level realm spells?. All I have is the basic
    box and I'm not about to buy more books for BR before I'm sure my players
    like it. I'm also using most on my money on Ravenloft at the time, so I
    really cant afford it either. Thanx again.

  2. #2
    Pieter Sleijpen
    Guest

    Rules questions -Wraith

    Hjelme wrote:

    > First of all I'd like to thank you all for the warm welcome and the
    > response. Thanx!
    > You've been most helpful and I'm loaded with ideas (Only seeds at this
    > moment. I can tell you about them when I've done some elaboration).
    >
    > The reason I'm writing this time is just some rules question I'd hope you
    > could help me with. Please?

    > The second question is about loyalty.
    > To whom does the loyalty rules apply?
    > I can see that loyalty rules are important to the ruler of a province, but
    > do it apply to other regents also? Like priests and their religions for
    > example?

    The official rules state it only applies to the landed regent, though a
    rebellion of coarse affects every regent in the area. Personaly I also
    raise the cost for actions by open allies of the landed regent. For
    instance when the guild regent want to build a road through a province
    of poor loyalty and he is a friend of the ruler of that province, he
    also will need to pay 1 GB extra.

    >
    > Third question, diplomacy.
    > If two parts meet to discuss an issue, does both parts need to spend a
    > diplomacy action?
    > In my case the ruler of Ilien is traveling to Medoere to discuss an
    > alliance. I'm sure Mr. Aglondier needs to spend an action, sure. But do the
    > PC ruler need?

    That depends on the PC, if he just reply's by saying yes or no, then the
    PC has simply to make a degree. If the player is going to demand certain
    things in return, that the PC quickly also has to make a diplomacy
    action.

    > Fourth question, army units and their owners.
    > OK, who in a province is allowed to keep army units? I'm sure this is up
    > to the ruler of the province, but is there any way a NPC regent can raise a
    > small army without being noticed?

    The landed regent. Temple and guilds can muster certain units, but only
    if they have certain higher holding lvls. They need the permission of
    the landed regent though or else risk his wrath. If the landed regent
    has got few law holdings, this is not much of a problem. If he does, his
    influence can be dangerous. You should realise that a unit has got about
    200-300 HD of creatures, thus one unit is allready a small army.

    > Fifth question, still army units.
    > On “table 21 basic unit types” in the rulebook (p. 61) there this thing
    > called Req'ts.
    > What is that and what's those L's beneath? Does this have anything to do
    > with requirements for mustering that particular unit?
    >

    That is the lvl of the provinces that should be in the country before a
    particular unit can be mustered.

  3. #3
    Tim Nutting
    Guest

    Rules questions -Wraith

    >Hi.


    Hi!

    >The first question is about trading.
    >Is it just me or is the rules about trading a little “thin”?


    Yes, they are. If you only have the boxed set, then you're missing some
    later addendums (look for Havens of the Great Bay box supplement)

    Requirements for a trade route are this:
    * 1 guild at each end.
    * A road connecting the two
    * The province at each end is a different terrain type
    * There is an open slot for a route

    All this is in the rulebook, just a bit hard to decipher. As an option to
    the first requirement the route can be connected by sea to "Parts Unknown"
    so long as it is in a seaport province (level 4 or higher, sea access - look
    at the map. Note that the river Maesil from connects up to Mhoried and
    Ghoere)

    As far as open slots go, provinces can only support so many routes in or out
    (only so many goods)
    Province (1-3): 1 route
    Province (4-6): 2 routes
    Province (7+): 3 routes
    (I allow 4 routes in level 10 provs - house rule)

    Note that any landholder whom the route passes through can sever it at any
    time with a simple Decree action. Further, the landed regents have full say
    on how much it costs the guild member to set up the route (they can levy any
    tax they want, they are the rulers)

    The level or a route is the average of the two guild holdings at each end.
    Note that both do not have to belong to the trade route owner, but a
    cooperative route with another guilder would ususally have to split profits.


    Gotta go to work, I'll email the rest later!

    Tim Nutting
    Zero@wiredweb.com

  4. #4
    Alexander MacLeod
    Guest

    Rules questions -Wraith

    Hjelme wrote:
    >Fourth question, army units and their owners.
    > OK, who in a province is allowed to keep army units? I'm sure this is
    up
    >to the ruler of the province, but is there any way a NPC regent can
    raise a
    >small army without being noticed?

    I think a unit could be raised in secret, but only with a successful
    Intreague (sp?) action for every unit a regent was attempting to muster
    without the Ruler's knowledge. On top of this, each law holding level
    the regent was trying to hide from would penalize his chance of success
    by 1.
    For example, If the Mhor wanted to train a secret cadre of troops in
    the middle of downtown Bhalaene, Ghore where his rival Baron Tael holds
    a Law(4), the Mhor would have a -4 to his Intreague action (success of
    24+ on a d20)! He'd better spend some regency if he want's this plot to
    succeed.

    Alexander "the Rjurik Necromancer"

    __________________________________________________ ____
    Get Your Private, Free Email at http://www.hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Memnoch
    Guest

    Rules questions -Wraith

    Greetings... this is an addendum to what Tim gave you, as I believe he
    forgot a few small things, but they are very important.

    Memnoch
    - -----Original Message-----
    From: Tim Nutting
    To: birthright@MPGN.COM
    Date: Monday, December 28, 1998 10:20 PM
    Subject: Re: [BIRTHRIGHT] - Rules questions -Wraith


    |>Hi.
    |
    |
    |Hi!
    |
    |>The first question is about trading.
    |>Is it just me or is the rules about trading a little “thin”?
    |
    |
    |Yes, they are. If you only have the boxed set, then you're missing some
    |later addendums (look for Havens of the Great Bay box supplement)
    |
    |Requirements for a trade route are this:
    |* 1 guild at each end.
    |* A road connecting the two
    |* The province at each end is a different terrain type
    |* There is an open slot for a route


    * Note that where you need a guild holding at both ends of the trade route,
    they do not necessarily have to be of the same guilder or thief regent.
    This is where diplomacy comes in.
    * Additionally, the provinces can be of the same terrain type as long as the
    cultures are different: i.e. Anuire and Khinasi.
    * Lastly, rivers can be used as roads, as long as they connect the two
    provinces in question.

    |All this is in the rulebook, just a bit hard to decipher. As an option to
    |the first requirement the route can be connected by sea to "Parts Unknown"
    |so long as it is in a seaport province (level 4 or higher, sea access -
    look
    |at the map. Note that the river Maesil from connects up to Mhoried and
    |Ghoere)
    |
    |As far as open slots go, provinces can only support so many routes in or
    out
    |(only so many goods)
    |Province (1-3): 1 route
    |Province (4-6): 2 routes
    |Province (7+): 3 routes
    |(I allow 4 routes in level 10 provs - house rule)


    * Note that there is no difference between incoming and outgoing trade
    routes. 1 Trade route will fill up 2 "slots". One from the originating
    province, and one from the terminating province.

    |Note that any landholder whom the route passes through can sever it at any
    |time with a simple Decree action.

    * While this is correct, in order for the decree to have any affect, the law
    holder must have a law holding of a greater level than the guild regent.
    Otherwise, it is wasted breath.

    Further, the landed regents have full say on how much it costs the guild
    member to set up the route (they can levy any
    |tax they want, they are the rulers)

    This can only be done through diplomatic action, as it is not directly
    supported by the rules. Most landholders will negotiate a simple tax for
    trade routes. The guilder is free to accept or ignore as he sees fit, but
    he will probably suffer the consequences.
    |
    |The level or a route is the average of the two guild holdings at each end.

    * This is a house rule. The level or income of the route is the average of
    the two *provinces*. The level of the guild holdings has no direct effect
    upon the income generated. Although, I agree with Tim that it should.

    |Note that both do not have to belong to the trade route owner, but a
    |cooperative route with another guilder would ususally have to split
    profits.


    See my note above saying the same thing.
    |
    |Gotta go to work, I'll email the rest later!
    |
    |Tim Nutting
    |Zero@wiredweb.com
    |
    |************************************************* **************************
    ||'unsubscribe birthright' as the body of the message.
    |

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Dread Wraith
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  2. Wraith
    By Arjan in forum Main
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 01:01 AM
  3. Questions/Problems with Trade Route Rules
    By Sathoth in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. Questions/Problems with Trade Route Rules
    By Sathoth in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 08:34 PM
  5. some questions on domain rules...
    By Lisif in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 08:58 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.