Results 1 to 1 of 1
Thread: SV: SV: Magicians and sources
06-04-1998, 08:21 AM #firstname.lastname@example.orgGuest
SV: SV: Magicians and sources
Gary V. Foss wrote:
> Rasmus Juul Wagner wrote:
> > email@example.com wrote:
> > >
> > > First of all,I think this is a question which can only be answered by
> > > local DM. BUT my oppinion is :
> > >
> > > As far as I remember, the magician has full access to the
> > > and Divination schools, and level 1 and 2 access to all others.
> > > If I am wrong, the following should be ignored completely, since I am
> > > writing it on the assumption that the above is true.
> > >
> > > A magician who is blooded (whether he starts out as blooded or becomes
> > > blooded during the campaign is in my book completely irrelevant) can
> > > RP and can cast realm magic AS LONG as the realm spell in question is
> > > his school access. That is below level 3 for all other schools than
> > > and Divination. Each realm spell has a 'level' of sorts, use it to
> > > if the magician can cast the spell.
> > >
> > > He will not be the terrifying force a guy like Aelis is, but still,
> > > magic-wielding person with access to realm magic is a force to be
> > > with.
> > I disagree. A magician has chosen an easier road to magical power than
> > the wizard's, and does not have the command of magical forces necessary
> > to cast realm spells. And I do believe the rulebook is quite clear on
> > the subject. Not that I'm a slave to the ruelbook, but I just needed
> > something to back my point :-)
> Well, I'm going to go for something of a the middle ground here. If this
> comes up in a campaign I'm running (and it just might) I think I'll give
> player the following choices:
> 1. He can keep his character a magician. In this case, the character will
> not be
> able to cast "true" magic, nor realm spells that have a level requirement
> 3rd unless they are from the illusion/phantasm or divination schools.
> magicians can cast 1st and 2nd level spells from any school I think they
> should be
> able to cast realm magic that is based on those lower level spells.)
Gary's point 1 is exactly what I meant. Of course Rasmus, is entitled to his
And as Rasmus, I am not a slave of the rulebook either. In fact I like to
follow the bit of text in the beginning of the DMG, which goes along the
lines of "The rules in this book is no more than guidelines."
What I mean is: If an unblooded magician in a Birthright campaign of mine,
became blooded during the campaign, and gained the ability to use Realm
magic, this is how I would do it.
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
By irdeggman in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 EditionReplies: 16Last Post: 07-06-2004, 08:03 PM
By graham anderson in forum The Royal LibraryReplies: 28Last Post: 07-01-2004, 12:12 PM
By Raedwald in forum The Royal LibraryReplies: 53Last Post: 03-01-2002, 07:04 AM
By firstname.lastname@example.org in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999Replies: 5Last Post: 06-02-1998, 08:47 PM
By Solmyr in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999Replies: 5Last Post: 05-31-1998, 09:43 AM