It depends on what kind of campaign is being run. If I am running a
strictly Birthright based campaign, I would view any attempt by an
unblooded magician to cast 3rd or higher level spells that he does not
have access to in a very unfavorable light. On the other hand, if I am
running a plane hopping Planescape campaign I would let my wizard
characters have full access to their spells (unless I were using the
Birthright plane to throw them a curve).

Matt Speer
Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Project Specialist

From: James Donald Lail[]
Sent: Friday, December 26, 1997 17:30 PM
To: birthright@MPGN.COM
Subject: Re: [BIRTHRIGHT] - Beating the Magic Limitation

Thanks to all who answered my query. I don't have the book of
yet and did not know of the exclusion. I loathe arbitrary DM
rulings on
such matters & I am glad to see it is covered.

However I'm surprised people still think that an unblooded mage
who enters
Aerbynnis with memorized spells could not cast them. Given Eds
referenced below it is a DM call and he called otherwise. But of
course, as
always YMMV.

Date: Wed, 22 Oct 1997 09:09:16 -0700
From: Ed Stark
Subject: Re: [BIRTHRIGHT] - Crossover Mages


************************************************** **********************
To unsubscribe from this list send mail to
with the line
'unsubscribe birthright' as the body of the message.