Results 1 to 5 of 5
Thread: Dual-classed humans
01-13-1998, 10:17 PM #1Jim CooperGuest
I have a question about dual-classed humans. In the Player's Handbook,
the write-up about this section leaves out an important point. When the
PC changes to their new class, do they get the weapon & non-weapon
proficiency slots available to 1st level characters of that new class?
Or, does the now dual classed PC only gain new w/nw proficiencies at the
appropriate level of his new class (after achieving a higher level than
his old class)?
Thanks for any responses,
(hoping Ed Stark or one of those other TSR employees will answer this
01-13-1998, 10:48 PM #2
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
In a message dated 98-01-13 17:41:19 EST, you write:
01-13-1998, 11:18 PM #3David Sean BrownGuest
> I have a question about dual-classed humans. In the Player's Handbook,
> the write-up about this section leaves out an important point. When the
> PC changes to their new class, do they get the weapon & non-weapon
> proficiency slots available to 1st level characters of that new class?
> Or, does the now dual classed PC only gain new w/nw proficiencies at the
> appropriate level of his new class (after achieving a higher level than
I think this question came up before (I thinkit was here). If I recall
correctly, the answer was teh after switching to a new class, you do not
gain the w/nw proficiencies until exceeding the level you had in the
01-13-1998, 11:46 PM #4Jan ArnoldusGuest
At 14:17 13-01-98 -0800, you wrote:
>I have a question about dual-classed humans. In the Player's Handbook,
>the write-up about this section leaves out an important point. When the
>PC changes to their new class, do they get the weapon & non-weapon
>proficiency slots available to 1st level characters of that new class?
>Or, does the now dual classed PC only gain new w/nw proficiencies at the
>appropriate level of his new class (after achieving a higher level than
>his old class)?
>Thanks for any responses,
Since it's a career change he shouldn't get those starting slots. Dualclass
characters have to plan in advance at what moment they want to change over.
Because a mage change class to fighter doesn't mean he somehow picked up 3
extra weapon proficiencies out of nowhere. He does start earning them
If the DM wants to be nice he can allow artially earned slots to be carried
over into the new class, this takes some acounting though.
i.e. A level 2 Priest decides to switch to the Thief class. The player can
use any slots he has left open to acquire new proficiencies. He normally
would aquire a new weapon and a new nonweapon slot every four Thief levels.
Since he already has earned half a weapon slot and 2/3rds of a nonweapon
slot the DM rules that he will acquire weapon slots at level 2, 6, 10 etc.
and nonweapon slots at level 1, 5, 9 etc.
I've always loved the dual-class but it takes some careful planing.
My favorite switching points are:
Fighter: level 7 (just earned the extra attack and another D10 isn't worth
the 64000xp needed)
Priest: level 3 or level 5 depending on your WIS score. With a wis score of
16 switch at third level retaining 4first and 3 second level spells, with
WIS 17 it's more interesting to wait till level five leaving the class with
5 first, 5 second and 2 third level spells
Thief: players choice, the rapid progression and the thief abilities make
this the class where it is interesting to start and to switch to. To start
because youbrack up some thief ability scores; to switch to since you
rapidly catch up to your old class
Wizard; doesn't actually have a logical switching point, the other classes
are much more interesting to start in (what with the D4 and the high xp
needed). It's a better idea to switch to the Wizard class.
I would say start with either fighter, priest or thief and switch to thief,
priest or wizard.
Ofcourse if you want to go for the really horendous characters (certainly in
birthright) create a thief, priest mage (2/3/u) they collect regency for
about everything, collect money from trade, have a nice priestly arsenal,
coupled with potentially awesome magic. Don't look to surprised when the DM
brings on the big guns though.
Hope this helps, Jan Arnoldus
01-13-1998, 11:55 PM #5Jan ArnoldusGuest
At 17:48 13-01-98 EST, you wrote:
>I have another question, that ties in directly with birthright and the above
>question: What happens to the holdings of a regent if he decided to become
> heh...just thought I'd add to the confusion ;)
Damm, I knew I forgot forgot something.
When a regent becomes dual class he will start collecting regency according
to his new class until his level in the new class is higher than his level
in his old class(es)
He also will lose any free actions connected to the old class(es) till this
i.e. A thief 3 who switches to Thief/Fighter
Will now collect full points for law holdings and provinces but loose his
regency from the trade routes and guilds (NB not the money though)
When he becomes Thief3/Fighter4 he will collect fully from law, guild,
traderoutes and provinces.
He also lost his free agitate action which he regains at achieving fourth
level as a fighter.
OK hope I didn't forget anything again, Jan Arnoldus
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
By Sorontar in forum MainReplies: 0Last Post: 06-25-2009, 04:15 AM
By Sorontar in forum CategoryReplies: 0Last Post: 06-25-2009, 04:14 AM
By destowe in forum The Royal LibraryReplies: 2Last Post: 04-05-2005, 04:44 PM
By email@example.com in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999Replies: 0Last Post: 09-04-1997, 04:40 PM
By Jan P. M. Arnoldus in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999Replies: 0Last Post: 09-03-1997, 04:48 PM