Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: A few questions

  1. #1
    Matt Lewis
    Guest

    A few questions

    This message didn't seem to make it to the list last time, so here
    goes...

    I have a few unrelated questions that have been bugging me:

    1) Is it possible to get additional war card boxes, like the one in
    the main BR boxed set?

    2) Can ley lines be traced across water? If so, what is possible? Can
    ley lines go only across lakes, or can they go through coastal waters?
    How about maritime areas?

    3) What is the official ruling on the unnamed province in the NW of
    Markazor? (It's the one just NW of Riverspring and W of Shattered
    Hills.)

    4) I think a couple of the Rjurik special unit war cards are wrong:

    RJURIK INFANTRY
    Move: 1 Melee: 3
    Defense: 3 +1 bonus vs. pikes
    Morale: 2 symbols and irregulars.
    1 Hit Melee: 2
    2 Hits: Melee: 1

    RJURIK HOUSECARLS
    Move: 1 Melee: 4
    Defense: 4 +1 bonus vs. pikes
    Morale: 3 symbols and irregulars.
    1 Hit Melee: 3
    2 Hits: Melee: 2

    KVIGMAR GUARDIANS
    Move: 1 Melee: 3
    Defense: 3
    Morale: 2 symbols
    1 Hit Melee: 2

    HOGUNMARK DRAGONS
    Move: 1 Melee: 3
    Defense: 3 +1 bonus vs. pikes
    Morale: 2 symbols and irregulars.
    1 Hit Melee: 2
    2 Hits: Melee: 1

    As you can see, the Kvigmar Guardians and the Hogunmark Dragons,
    supposedly the ruler's finest fighting troops, are in one case only as
    good as regular infantry, while in the other case, they're not even
    that good. Neither are anywhere near as good as Housecarls. What
    gives?

    -

  2. #2
    Paul Lefebvre
    Guest

    A few questions

    Matt Lewis wrote:

    >
    >
    > 3) What is the official ruling on the unnamed province in the NW of
    > Markazor? (It's the one just NW of Riverspring and W of Shattered
    > Hills.)

    Pulling out my handy-dandy domain sourcebook for Tuarhieval, I see
    that the province that you are considering is called Sideath. It was
    once part of Tuarhieval, but the Gorgon invaded it. The Siedhelien
    defended against the invasion and one EXTREMELY powerful elven mage
    drove the Gorgon off by opening a rift to the shadow world. Everything,
    elves, humans, goblins, squirrels, birds (you get the idea) was sucked
    into the shadow world. The domain is unclaimed by either Tuarhieval or
    the Gorgon now, and is defended by the elven mage who has been
    transformed into some sort of semi lich creature...

    There are no statistics for that province....though who'd want to go
    there is beyond me :)

    Paul L.

  3. #3
    breye@earthlink.ne
    Guest

    A few questions

    Matt Lewis wrote:

    > 1) Is it possible to get additional war card boxes, like the one in
    > the main BR boxed set?

    Sorry no clue, but I doubt that TSRwould be able to cet you one any
    time soon, there is just more important stuff to print...

    > 2) Can ley lines be traced across water? If so, what is possible? Can
    > ley lines go only across lakes, or can they go through coastal waters?
    > How about maritime areas?

    I would use the water areas from Cities of the Sun for cost...

    > 3) What is the official ruling on the unnamed province in the NW of
    > Markazor? (It's the one just NW of Riverspring and W of Shattered
    > Hills.)

    From talking to various designers at the last 2 GenCons the response
    seems to be, Oops, wow, wondered how that got there.

    In my own campaign it was the basis of an elven PC's domain

    > 4) I think a couple of the Rjurik special unit war cards are wrong:

    Actually there are a lot of inconsistancies on the war cards.

    Bryan

  4. #4
    Robin Cantin
    Guest

    A few questions

    From Matt Lewis:
    >This message didn't seem to make it to the list last time, so here
    >goes...
    >
    >I have a few unrelated questions that have been bugging me:
    >
    >1) Is it possible to get additional war card boxes, like the one in
    >the main BR boxed set?

    Don't count on it. TSR is supposed to stop Birthright production this year
    on Birthright, and no war card boxes are scheduled.

    >2) Can ley lines be traced across water? If so, what is possible? Can
    >ley lines go only across lakes, or can they go through coastal waters?
    >How about maritime areas?

    According to the Book of Magecraft yes, but they must reach dry land in no
    more than 150 miles. Lakes, seas or ocean.


    Webmaster of the Direct Democracy Pages
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/AIntro.html
    Les Pages Democratie Directe
    http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/Introduction.html

  5. #5
    ┬╝├Ľ ┬┤┬ę┬Ş┬«(Son, Nuree
    Guest

    A few questions

    > From: Matt Lewis
    > Subject: [BIRTHRIGHT] - A few questions
    >
    > 1) Is it possible to get additional war card boxes, like the one in
    > the main BR boxed set?

    It seems impossible. But, according to the boxed set you can photocopy the
    war cards. It is not quite satisfying, so I ask one of my players to bring
    his war cards when more war cards are needed. (he has the boxed set, too.)

    > 2) Can ley lines be traced across water? If so, what is possible? Can
    > ley lines go only across lakes, or can they go through coastal waters?
    > How about maritime areas?

    Well, I think ley lines cannot cross water, but it's just my opinion.

    > 3) What is the official ruling on the unnamed province in the NW of
    > Markazor? (It's the one just NW of Riverspring and W of Shattered
    > Hills.)

    It may be a mistake of TSR, but now we should take it as a blank province.
    There is no mention about that province.

    - - Son, Nuree

  6. #6
    tbeutler@sprynet.co
    Guest

    A few questions

    On Fri, 22 Aug 1997, Robin Cantin wrote:

    >
    >According to the Book of Magecraft yes, but they must reach dry land in no
    >more than 150 miles. Lakes, seas or ocean.
    >

    I thought that I had read that before, do you know what page that is?
    Thanks!


    >Webmaster of the Direct Democracy Pages
    >http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/AIntro.html
    >Les Pages Democratie Directe
    >http://www.oricom.ca/~rcantin/Introduction.html
    >
    >
    >************************************************* **************************
    >>'unsubscribe birthright' as the body of the message.
    >

  7. #7
    breye@earthlink.ne
    Guest

    A few questions

    Sepsis wrote:
    >
    > At 03:10 AM 8/22/97 -0400, Robin Cantin(rcantin@oricom.ca)wrote:
    > >
    > >Don't count on it. TSR is supposed to stop Birthright production this year
    > >on Birthright, and no war card boxes are scheduled.
    > >
    >
    > Thats still a maybe. If sales on BR go up, TSR/WotC will continue to support
    > the line, and don't forget to write a snail-mail letter to let them know you
    > care what happens to this setting.
    >
    > Sepsis, richt@metrolink.net
    > At GenCon, they were very definate on the fact of the continuation of
    the Birthright line. Have no fear.

    Bryan

  8. #8
    Paul Lefebvre
    Guest

    A few questions

    Robin Cantin wrote:

    > >From Matt Lewis:
    > >This message didn't seem to make it to the list last time, so here
    > >goes...
    > >
    > >I have a few unrelated questions that have been bugging me:
    > >
    > >1) Is it possible to get additional war card boxes, like the one in
    > >the main BR boxed set?
    >
    > Don't count on it. TSR is supposed to stop Birthright production this
    > year
    > on Birthright, and no war card boxes are scheduled.
    >

    TSR is stopping birthright?? Why? Is this the same way that they
    planned in advance to only produce 2-3 years of Al-Qadim stuff and then
    quit while they were ahead?? From what I heard on the Gen Con online
    seminar on the shadow world, they're producing birthright at least
    through 98. If you've heard differently, please respond to my e-mail
    address.

    Paul L.

  9. #9
    Robin Cantin
    Guest

    A few questions

    >>According to the Book of Magecraft yes, but they must reach dry land in no
    >>more than 150 miles. Lakes, seas or ocean.
    >>
    >
    >I thought that I had read that before, do you know what page that is?
    >Thanks!

    Page 26, 2nd column, first complete paragraph.

    Robin

    "J'ai compris qu'il est des hommes, peut-=EAtre la plupart des hommes, pour
    qui il n'est pire tourment que la v=E9rit=E9"

    - - Martin Gray, Au Nom de Tous les Miens

  10. #10
    ┬╝├Ľ ┬┤┬ę┬Ş┬«(Son, Nuree
    Guest

    A few questions

    > From: Paul Lefebvre
    > Subject: Re: [BIRTHRIGHT] - A few questions
    >
    > Pulling out my handy-dandy domain sourcebook for Tuarhieval, I see
    > that the province that you are considering is called Sideath. It was
    > once part of Tuarhieval, but the Gorgon invaded it. The Siedhelien
    > defended against the invasion and one EXTREMELY powerful elven mage
    > drove the Gorgon off by opening a rift to the shadow world. Everything,
    > elves, humans, goblins, squirrels, birds (you get the idea) was sucked
    > into the shadow world. The domain is unclaimed by either Tuarhieval or
    > the Gorgon now, and is defended by the elven mage who has been
    > transformed into some sort of semi lich creature...

    What you say is Sideath province in Gorgon's Crown, not the nameless
    province in Markazor.

    - - Son, Nuree

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Questions...
    By Mirviriam in forum BRCS 3.0/3.5 Edition
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 05:48 PM
  2. New Here and a few Questions
    By Paladin132 in forum The Royal Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 02:27 AM
  3. Some questions
    By Dan Medeiros in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-1997, 03:37 PM
  4. A few questions
    By Sepsis in forum MPGN Mailinglist archive 1996-1999
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-21-1996, 04:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ę2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.