Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    53
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Dear all,

    How does one become a "non-landed" regent? I have a PC playing a lieutenant who chafes at not being able to spend regency. So he asked me, "hey, is there any way I can become a non-landed regent so I can have a few pennies of RP to burn?"

    This raised a few issues I wondered about. First, how does one become a non-landed regent? I told him you "start that way," lol, but it's not a good answer. Second, why are there no law non-landed regents? He also happens to own all the law in the realm, but since no other non-landed law regents where in my ruins of the empire, I surmised you can't be one.

    Finally, is there any way a lieutenant can get regency to spend during a lieutenant action? I told him there isn't unless you're a vassaled lieutenant with some sort of domain. So should he start building guilds, declare himself guildmaster, and see if any regency comes in?

    Let me add that I don't intend to grant him regency, but I thought it was a legitimate question. Any ideas?
    Carpe DM

  2. #2
    Birthright Developer irdeggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    3,946
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    If he controls all of the law holdings then he is by definition a non-landed regent. A non-landed regent is a regent who doesn't control a realm (i.e., a province) and whose holdings consist of only holdings and no provinces. There are many guilders, priests and wizards listed in the 2nd ed books who are non-landed regents.

    Someone could 'loan' him the means necessary to become a regent.

    In the 2nd ed rules, it cost GB to creats a 0 level holding and GB and RP to rule it up to level 1 (which is the minimum level to gain regency). In the BRCS both actions only cost GB.

    So a regent would have to loan the scion sufficient GB (and RP depending on the ruleset being used) to create and rule up a holding inorder to gain regency.

    In my campaigns I ruled that if a Lt gained holdings (i.e., became a regent) then he was no longer a Lt but could become a vassel. It happened to one of my player's PC. He 'granted' one of his Lt (NPC) an entire province through Investiture.


    The bottom line is there is no reason that a non-landed regent can't control law holdings. The main reason that none were seen in the 2nd ed books is that the realm regent would chaff at someone other than himself controlling the law in his land and hence would contest it. The person who controls the law can 'kick' out the realm regent that doesn't if he is not careful. There is nothing written in the 2nd ed books (including the Book of Regency) that forbids a non-landed regent to control the law holdings.
    Duane Eggert

  3. #3
    Birthright Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    On Sat, 31 Jan 2004, camelotcrusade wrote:

    > Dear all,How does one become a "non-landed" regent? I have

    > a PC playing a lieutenant who chafes at not being able to spend regency.

    > So he asked me, "hey, is there any way I can become a non-landed

    > regent so I can have a few pennies of RP to burn?"This raised a few

    > issues I wondered about. First, how does one become a non-landed

    > regent? I told him you "start that way," lol, but it's

    > not a good answer.



    Create holding is a realm action which can be undertaken without spending

    any RP. It costs 1 GB. Rule holding can also be done without spending

    any RP, but the difficulty goes up by 1 for every RP you would normally

    have to spend. Thus, ruling the holding (0) you created to level 1 can be

    done for an additional GB. So basically, spend 4000 gps, in a province

    with an available holding slot, and you`re a regent with a RP income.



    In the original 2e rules, create cost 1 GB, and ruling a holding cost 1 GB

    + RP equal to the target level of the holding, except when ruling from

    level 0 to level 1. The above rule about difficulty increase is one of

    the best changes introduced in the 3e BRCS, and I`d recommend it above the

    somewhat confusing 2e rule, which has exceptions.



    > Second, why are there no law non-landed regents?



    Landed regents tend to be jealous of their law holdings, and use the power

    that comes from being the legitimate liege of the land to force out

    competitors. So the only law holdings owned in another person`s land tend

    to belong to someone with a significant power base. Ghoere and Mhoried

    own law holdings in each other`s provinces, for instance, because they

    have enough muscle to keep them from being destroyed out of hand.



    > He also happens to own all the law in the realm, but since no other

    > non-landed law regents where in my ruins of the empire, I surmised you

    > can't be one.



    Not an unreasonable extrapolation from the examples in "Ruins", but wrong.



    > Finally, is there any way a lieutenant can get regency to spend during a

    > lieutenant action? I told him there isn't unless you're a

    > vassaled lieutenant with some sort of domain. So should he start

    > building guilds, declare himself guildmaster, and see if any regency

    > comes in?



    No, lieutenants can`t spend RP during domain actions they undertake for

    their lord. Unless he`s a regent on his own, in which case he`s not

    really a lieutenant any more, but a vassal, and he`s not taking lieutenant

    actions, he`s using his own actions on behalf of his lord. A subtle, but

    important difference.



    --

    Daniel McSorley

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    53
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thank you for your answers, I understand much better now. If he were a vassal a not a lieutenant I would have to play full domain actions for him though, right? Might be too distruptive to us right now.

    Also, I've noticed that it says vassals can/should/must donate RP to the regent that is their liege. Any guidelines on how much this should be?

    We've wondered what it would take to get a non-landed to swear fealty to the regent, and then how that relationship works. You've given me some to go on here, but if you'd like to expand I'd appreciate it.
    Carpe DM

  5. #5
    Birthright Developer irdeggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    3,946
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Originally posted by camelotcrusade@Jan 31 2004, 03:24 PM

    Also, I've noticed that it says vassals can/should/must donate RP to the regent that is their liege. Any guidelines on how much this should be?

    We've wondered what it would take to get a non-landed to swear fealty to the regent, and then how that relationship works. You've given me some to go on here, but if you'd like to expand I'd appreciate it.
    It is entirely up to those in question. Being situational, it would depend on the relative power and incentive of the leige lord over the vassal. Is it a friendly arrangement, was it forced by threat, was it by marraige? Every one of these influences the decisions. When it comes to player to player arrangements it is entirely up to the PCs involved.

    It is also up to the DM and player to determine what kind of split should exist between an NPC and a PC. Both sides have to agree (or be forced to agree) and not all similar arrangements are equal.

    As an example in my old 2nd ed game for law claims against holdings we typically had the following:

    The law (usually the realm) got the second GB generated and the regent with the holding being 'taxed' got to keep the rest. This mitigated the number of dice rolls to determine income. The holding regent always got some income and their was generally a 'friendly' relationship between the the two regents. Sometimes the landed regent would put on additional stipulations, usually in regards to future loans, etc.

    Something like that could work for RP collection also, but again it has to be some sort of 'agreement'. Oh and vassalege is one arrangement that either side can break at anytime, but there will be consequences if one side didn't want the relationship to be broken. Ahhh the intricacies of politics, the thing that really makes Birthright an enjoyable game.
    Duane Eggert

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    883
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Daniel McSorley schrieb:



    >On Sat, 31 Jan 2004, camelotcrusade wrote:

    >

    >

    >>Finally, is there any way a lieutenant can get regency to spend during a

    >>lieutenant action? I told him there isn't unless you're a

    >>vassaled lieutenant with some sort of domain. So should he start

    >>building guilds, declare himself guildmaster, and see if any regency

    >>comes in?

    >>

    >>

    >No, lieutenants can`t spend RP during domain actions they undertake for

    >their lord. Unless he`s a regent on his own, in which case he`s not

    >really a lieutenant any more, but a vassal, and he`s not taking lieutenant

    >actions, he`s using his own actions on behalf of his lord. A subtle, but

    >important difference.

    >Daniel McSorley

    >

    Except in the unusual circumstance that the lieutenant or his liege lord

    would have managed to get their hand on the 2E Book of Magecraft magical

    item, the GLOVES OF DELEGATION: "When worn by a regent´s lieutenant,

    these soft leather gloves allow the regent to improve his lieutenant´s

    ability to complete one domain action. Before sending his lieutenant

    forth to perfom an action, the regent puts on the gloves. In doing so,

    he can imbue the gloves with up to 10 Regency Points; these points are

    immediately deducted from his score. The lieutenant has three action

    rounds in which to use the gloves before the Regency Points expire. When

    performing the domain action, the lieutenant can spend the regency

    invested in the gloves to increase his chance of success. Once the

    action has been performed (or attempted unsuccessfully), any unused

    Regency Points expire immediately. The gloves may be used twice a year."

    XP 5000, GP 11000 (2E values!).

    bye

    Michael

  7. #7
    Site Moderator kgauck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    3,562
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    ----- Original Message -----

    From: "camelotcrusade" <brnetboard@BIRTHRIGHT.NET>

    Sent: Saturday, January 31, 2004 2:24 PM



    > If he were a vassal a not a lieutenant I would have to play full domain

    > actions for him though, right? Might be too distruptive to us right now.



    As long as he is small, he`s only got the resources for occasional realm

    actions. He`s really got to take adventure actions and personal actions

    most of the time. He can`t afford anything else. Make use of his realm

    when it makes sense for the group and ignore it the rest of the time.



    > Also, I`ve noticed that it says vassals can/should/must donate RP to the

    > regent that is their liege. Any guidelines on how much this should be?



    Do what makes sense. Throw can/should/must out the window. What do that

    vassal and overlord want from each other?



    > We`ve wondered what it would take to get a non-landed to swear fealty

    > to the regent, and then how that relationship works.



    Why would anyone swear fealty to someone else, ever? Because you are weak

    and need protection. A guy with one holding can be swept away by any

    powerful rival who wants to. If the guy with one holding can count on the

    support and protection of a more powerful ruler, if he makes the proper

    arrangements.



    Kenneth Gauck

    kgauck@mchsi.com

  8. #8
    Birthright Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    On Sat, 31 Jan 2004, Michael Romes wrote:

    > >No, lieutenants can`t spend RP during domain actions they undertake for

    > >their lord. Unless he`s a regent on his own, in which case he`s not

    > >really a lieutenant any more, but a vassal, and he`s not taking lieutenant

    > >actions, he`s using his own actions on behalf of his lord. A subtle, but

    > >important difference.

    > >Daniel McSorley

    > >

    > Except in the unusual circumstance that the lieutenant or his liege lord

    > would have managed to get their hand on the 2E Book of Magecraft magical

    > item, the GLOVES OF DELEGATION:



    Yes, yes, very droll, but the rule is that lieutenants cannot spend RPs

    doing domain actions, magical items which allow breaking the rule

    notwithstanding :) If he had asked if regents can fly, and I said no,

    well, technically they can get they fly spell or wings of flying, but

    that`s not the standard situation, now is it? :P



    --

    Daniel McSorley

  9. #9
    Birthright Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    On Sat, 31 Jan 2004, camelotcrusade wrote:

    > Thank you for your answers, I understand much better now. If he were

    > a vassal a not a lieutenant I would have to play full domain actions for

    > him though, right? Might be too distruptive to us right now.



    You don`t have to. You don`t do actions for every regent in existance, do

    you? Play out the actions that are important, and the rest of the time

    he`s taking care of personal duties, managing his holding, and whatever.



    > Also, I`ve noticed that it says vassals can/should/must donate RP to

    > the regent that is their liege. Any guidelines on how much this should

    > be?



    Nope. A RP/holding is not unreasonable. Take too much away, and you

    weaken him to the point that he`s not useful to you.



    > We`ve wondered what it would take to get a non-landed to swear fealty

    > to the regent, and then how that relationship works. You`ve given me

    > some to go on here, but if you`d like to expand I`d appreciate it.



    Hereditary fealty (my grandpappy owed loyalty to yours).

    Protection (yep, I`m your man, now could you help me with this pesky

    invasion?).

    Self-advancement (get in good with the guy on his way up).



    In general, guilds sometimes will swear loyalty to a landed lord in return

    for special status in the realm. Temples usually shouldn`t, representing

    a higher power than any one landed lord. Source-holders might, depending

    on what they can get out of it, and take on the role of court wizard.



    --

    Daniel McSorley

  10. #10
    Senior Member Trithemius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canberra, Australia.
    Posts
    408
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Dan McSorley:

    > In the original 2e rules, create cost 1 GB, and ruling a holding cost 1

    > GB + RP equal to the target level of the holding, except when ruling from

    > level 0 to level 1. The above rule about difficulty increase is one of

    > the best changes introduced in the 3e BRCS, and I`d recommend it above

    > the somewhat confusing 2e rule, which has exceptions.



    I believe they mentioned (in the `Book of Regency`?) that you could sacrifice

    Bloodline Rating points for RP so that a non-regent scion could carve out a

    new domain.



    > Landed regents tend to be jealous of their law holdings, and use the

    > power that comes from being the legitimate liege of the land to force out

    > competitors. So the only law holdings owned in another person`s land

    > tend to belong to someone with a significant power base. Ghoere and Mhoried

    > own law holdings in each other`s provinces, for instance, because they

    > have enough muscle to keep them from being destroyed out of hand.



    I have had a wizard PC in one of my games who permitted others (an LT) to rule

    the Law Holdings, in the wizard`s name. Harald Khorien should probably be

    doing something similar with the few Law Holdings he has left.



    > No, lieutenants can`t spend RP during domain actions they undertake for

    > their lord. Unless he`s a regent on his own, in which case he`s not

    > really a lieutenant any more, but a vassal, and he`s not taking

    > lieutenant actions, he`s using his own actions on behalf of his lord.

    > A subtle, but important difference.



    I believe that the lord can pay the BASE RP cost of any actions for the LT,

    but the LT cannot spend further RP to improve the chances of success, unless

    the aforementioned LT has been granted them through a ceremony of Investiture

    (which is hardly efficient). A ceremony of Investiture *could* set up a

    regular "tithe" of a few RPs from the lord to the LT, but this is asking for

    trouble, as far as I am concerned! Great Captains, anyone?



    --

    John Machin

    (trithemius@paradise.net.nz)

    -----------------------------------------------------

    "Nothing is more beautiful than to know the All."

    -----------------------------------------------------

    - Athanasius Kircher, `The Great Art of Knowledge`.
    John 'Trithemius' Machin
    The Other John From Dunedin (now in Canberra)
    "Power performs the Miracle." - Johannes Trithemius

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.