Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    IS the BRCS going to have a point system where it determines how many point does a regent gain when he successfully create a province, rules a province, gains new provinces.etc Similiar to the system where if you lose holdings /provinces you also lose bloodline strength.?

  2. #2
    Birthright Developer Raesene Andu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    1,357
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I'll have to look into that.

    What I use in my current pbem game is something like this.

    Conquer/Invest Racial Enemy Province = Great Gain
    Win Battle against racial enemy despite odds against you = Great Gain
    Create Province = Great Gain
    Conquer/Invest Racial Enemy Holding = Major Gain
    Win Battle against enemy despite odds against you = major Gain
    Recover historical artefact linked to your race = Major Gain
    Conquer/Invest Enemy Province = Major Gain
    Destroy/Invest Enemy Holding = Minor Gain
    Win Battle against racial enemy = Minor Gain
    Recover historical artefact = Minor Gain

    and so on.

    OK, looked into it. BRCS already has info on gains to RP total and bloodline score through heroic deads, but it does not give quite as many examples as losses. I've made a not of that and will see if it can be changed slightly in revised edition.
    Let me claim your Birthright!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Here's a thought: When a Regent gains regency/bloodline for heroic deeds, great accomplishments, etc. Is this a public affair or a private? Sorry, allow me to break this down into several questions.

    Does a one time gain of regency have a visual residue? The only other method in which a Regent gains a large amount of regency at a single point is through bloodtheft which is a very obvious event. Does the same hold true for a gain due to heroic deeds, etc.? Small lights playing over the form, a little glow to the eyes for a brief moment, a rustling wind, small streams of energy entering their form from the land, etc.

    Also, as a side note, I've been playing with the idea that a Regent, though his overall health and appearance are fairly based on Constitution and Charisma scores, looks different based on how much Regency is in his/her reserve. When close to full a regent looks in excellent health, nary a hair out of place, and possessed of a downright "glow". When close to zero a regent would look a bit worn, looking constantly like they could use a meal or a nap or something. I mean, think about it, when a Regent spends regency they're effectively tossing divine essence around to enhance their administrative capabilities, their connection to the land and the people. They're channeling a part of themselves back into the land and people from which it came. That has to be draining in some way.

    Look at it this way, a Regent gains thirty regency at the top of his season. The people and land that he gets this energy from don't notice because all thos points are spread over a vast population and huge tracts of land (yar yar Monty Python reference, I know). Now all of that energy is focused in ONE person. He has to control it as he uses it over the next three months to accomplish deeds and rule the land. What was once drawn from a population and the land is now being drawn from a single person. The energy itself hasn't gotten weaker or easier to manipulate. Obviously some titanic forces at work when one really sits down to ponder it.

    Thoughts?

  4. #4
    Senior Member RaspK_FOG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Moschato, Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,130
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    That's always something to discuss, isn't it? Definitely an interesting - a very interesting - bit of flavour, and I think it should be included... One way or the other. However, this should simply remain as a piece of RPing notice, right?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    It could be possible that during the investiture ceremony you could have visual effects. but I m not sure on afterwards.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
BIRTHRIGHT, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, D&D, the BIRTHRIGHT logo, and the D&D logo are trademarks owned by Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and are used by permission. ©2002-2010 Wizards of the Coast, Inc.