PDA

View Full Version : Campaign (Province, Domain, Holding, Regent, Unit) information source?



Mirviriam
05-24-2010, 04:26 AM
I'm looking for a source of uniformed campaign information (Province, Domain, Holding, Regent, Unit) already in plain text files or CSV/Comma Delimited etc...basically something on the computer, that requires nothing to open the file & read but notepad.

I haven't had any luck with the birMail as a source...if anyone has the information in plain text from there, I would appreciate it (as when it generates the HTML to be displayed, it puts them as High, Medium, Low for the levels)!!

I considered the wiki, but it's not uniform & correcting errors after using a scripting spider would take longer than hand entering so far as I can tell...since I was not great with pearl's expressions.

Arjan
05-30-2010, 12:00 PM
here is a SQL file i made ages ago containing all the information of anuire (realms, provinces, borders, regents, lieuts etc etc)

Dyark
05-31-2010, 02:11 PM
here is for the full cerilia sql .

Mirviriam
06-01-2010, 10:33 AM
Nice, I have to poke at that this week!! I keep finding crap I'm missing all the time :)

Yesterday it was the blood traits for long life, physically I know they exist - but be damned if I had a mechanic for them in factoring for age on regents :)

EDIT: I took a peek before I am going to bed...that's beyond incredible. How long were you on that?

Mirviriam
06-05-2010, 10:03 PM
So what is it you guys need then in the PHP side of things? I'm not a graphics guy myself or I'd offer that since it was what you were discussing in the other posts...

Mirviriam
06-07-2010, 08:54 AM
Dyark, do you have someone else helping out with the data input for your project or is this some how grabbed off the infamous PDF's, stripped to text & then inserted in your database?

Arjan
06-07-2010, 09:36 AM
Dyark, do you have someone else helping out with the data input for your project or is this some how grabbed off the infamous PDF's, stripped to text & then inserted in your database?

if i recall right its the full Birmail dump

Mirviriam
06-23-2010, 09:28 AM
Ugh, ... I found some oddities:

463 Rulers
119 Countries
847 Provinces
1768 Holdings

But when I'm joining tables looking for

SELECT *
FROM Province, Rulers
WHERE Rulers.ID = Province.CharOwnerID

There's only 229 provinces with rulers ... So, I'm assuming the database was never finished?

Mirviriam
06-23-2010, 09:35 AM
For example from the Province table

ID Realm CharOwnerID
461 65 152

Where from Rulers table:

MySQL returned an empty result set (i.e. zero rows). (Query took 0.0410 sec)
SQL query:
SELECT `ID`
FROM `Rulers`
WHERE `ID` =152
LIMIT 0 , 30

I'm just double checking to see what we need for information ... if it turns out I'm just not good with MY-SQL, then I'll go grab another text to help out. Otherwise I'll start on coding tools to allow users to correct the database via the web (like wiki only easier).

Dyark
06-24-2010, 06:18 PM
Sorry was out for a couple of weeks can you specify the question ?

like if all realms have a regent attach ?

the database comes from birdmail, there is a lot of correction to make with it. I use a table that enable me to restart really easily (the table time_actions_rounds control the random event, time and action, also taxes and expenses) that way if you do not want to use my rules (mixte of 2e and 3e) you just make you rules from that table.

All the provinces have their level and source from the sourcebook as original. it will be modify (not finish) with a different table so I can go back easily (I like to make stuff reusable many times)

I am trying to build the web part with Flash CS4, it reads the variable coming from php so i can change and update the data from mysql.

Like all the time I pass from one subject to the next LOL

Dyark
06-24-2010, 06:24 PM
Let's say you want to see all the provinces with a valid ruler this is the sql I make

SELECT *
FROM Province
INNER JOIN Rulers ON Province.CharOwnerID = Rulers.ID

so only the provinces with a valid rulers will show (242 right now).

for Country I only have anuire made (doing Kinasi right now)

Dyark
06-24-2010, 06:57 PM
oops forgot, the rulers are per country not province (easier for change of province rulers after)

I corrected the database for the realms of Kinasi, rjurik, vossgard and brecht. Some country don't have rulers (7 of them).

the is the new database

Mirviriam
06-25-2010, 10:13 AM
Yea, I figured that one out for provinces by CharOwnerID...did you do it to avoid extra joins? I had this setup with all provinces link by domainID (domains belong to rulers...which allows quick change of successions) & regionID (region's belong to continents).

Any objection to just setting up a script to let people fill in the details off a web page & inserting it?

Then we focus on the mechanics behind the page instead of the details that anyone with the books can handle?

Link Example - [click me] (http://www.reski.com/editor.index.php)

I need to throw together some pages for the actual editing & come up with a way of hunting down unattached links via the Province, Country thing...

Say, how do you handle domains which are not countries? Like all temple domains?

Dyark
06-25-2010, 11:16 AM
look at the exemple I made for a ruler in php

http://www.deismaar.com/

User = user
pswd = user

there is only one ruler (by choice for the example) click on the info button (left side) and the right panel will show province and holding so a domain that does not have a province will work by the table holding CharOwnerID (you simply made de request from holding to province to country to know where it is)

"Any objection to just setting up a script to let people fill in the details off a web page & inserting it?"

can you rephrase that ? I don't understand !

you can also send me email, but the forum let other people know what we do !

Dyark
06-25-2010, 11:42 AM
right now this is what I do step by step


Check Regent with province or holdings
roll random events
roll initiative
roll taxes (I use 2e)
add RP
Calculate expenses
Calculate final amounts


Now I am at events in which i must decide how each one is handle per regent decisions.

Mirviriam
06-26-2010, 08:23 AM
I'm poking around some...

Mirviriam
06-26-2010, 09:48 PM
look at the exemple I made for a ruler in php

http://www.deismaar.com/

"Any objection to just setting up a script to let people fill in the details off a web page & inserting it?"

can you rephrase that ? I don't understand !



I can throw a webpage together to let other people edit your province/ruler/country tables. This will save you time. Should I start writing that tool?

Dyark
06-27-2010, 03:39 AM
Everything is already edited, this is the exemple page I have right now, but i also have one with all the rulers (if that is what you mean) all the holdings and country are already owned (except maybe Kinasi and Brecht I will check and let you know)

Arjan
06-27-2010, 10:21 AM
i have been playing around with the google maps api to have a 3d map of cerilia using the material from the database.

it still has some limitations in comparison with what i want to show and how, so i need to come up with some workarounds..

ill keep you posted

Mirviriam
06-28-2010, 04:18 AM
Everything is already edited, this is the exemple page I have right now, but i also have one with all the rulers (if that is what you mean) all the holdings and country are already owned (except maybe Kinasi and Brecht I will check and let you know)

Yea - I'd love to see that complete ruler = country =province = holding database.

I've still decided to try & help speed things along for your project; let me know which of the next problems you'd want me to help with?

Give it to me like function developing ... list the variable/field names I'll take as input & what variable's/types/array/order/formats you'll need back?

Dyark
06-28-2010, 10:39 AM
the 2e file in this post has all the rulers of all the countries.

those are function I need now

-- > change in the taxation (as per 2e edition rule of the book) for the rulers to change the level of taxation, morale effect on the province.
-- > paying armies with RP instead of GB at the beginning of the 1 round
--> Vassal expense (transfer of RP and/or GP) from one blooded ruler to an other.
--> using law claim

the rest will come after depending on the speed you produce it (I am sure it will be fast .. :) )

this is the example of a map I will use, i am still working on it, but provinces names, level and source level are filled by a php file wich uses variables.

http://www.deismaar.com/test/cerilia3.html

you can zoom by right click for now !

this is the request "SELECT Province.variable, Province.Name, Province.ProvLevel, Province.SourceLevel FROM Province ORDER BY ID"

this is the command line that feed the flash map the variable is used in 2 ways, First to name the object on the map $row_rsCaerwill['variable'] . "_txt_vos.text after to give the result "=" . $row_rsCaerwill['Name'] . "(" . $row_rsCaerwill['ProvLevel'] . "/" . $row_rsCaerwill['SourceLevel'] . ")";

so if i change the request (chosing a realm [example Anuire] or a country [example Boeruine] or a regent, it is really easy to change, we just change the request and the map will adjust accordingly. What is long is to make every object on the map :( I am also building a tooltip to have the information on the province (holdings and other details) available just by putting the mouse over. So this is where I'm at !!

Mirviriam
06-30-2010, 08:35 AM
I'll be out of town this week & parts of next - I will start on the change in tax & morale one when I'm back.

-- > change in the taxation (as per 2e edition rule of the book) for the rulers to change the level of taxation, morale effect on the province.:

1) Do you want me to run my query against all countries listed in country table or work off an array of country's ID's fed to the function?

2) Should I store the results an array, so you can show them to the DM for adjustment or just straight update each row as I go along?

3) Should I worry about locking a table for the updates?

Dyark
06-30-2010, 10:35 AM
Since I am thinking of playing with different persons on different timezone, a temporary table with the adjustment would be great, so if there is more than 1 DM, we can play/adjust without being live.

Run the query for every Rulers with at least one holding

and thanks a lot :)