Pieter Sleijpen
02-04-1999, 05:11 PM
Since a war is going to take place soon in my campaign, I was reading
some of the rules on this. On page 58 of the Rulebook it is stated that
if you move troops, they need 1 full action round and can not be used
for any other action that round. If you declare war you can move them in
each war move and still use them for attacks in the same war move
without any penalties.
Could you declare war and then move your troops within your own domain
before invading someone else? Or is moving your troops within your own
domain always a 'move troops' action, unless in defence against an
invading army? The awnser to the first question should logicaly be
'yes', but that will give the player the ability to surprise, because
now he could concentrate the invading army 1 province away from the
border out of sight from the enemy scouts. If he needs to concentrate
the army at the border, that gives the defender a 1 round warning of an
incoming invasion (if he was so smart as to place scout units at the
border). But the rule of 'move troops' sounds illogical when compared to
the war move rules. This could be compensated, by stating that an army
could move into a province in 1 war move and only attack in the
following. If they have to defend themselves in that same war move they
will have a -1 on melee rating because of being tired. This will raise
the value of scouts, because at the moment it is to late if you see an
invading army marching at you.
I hope you understand what I mean, but this really boggles me (not to
mention that this might be a sollution to the surprise attacks problem
in the PBEM)...
Pieter Sleijpen
P.S. If you cast a realm spell, the spell will start at the beginning of
the next action round or in case of an instanteous spell at the end of
the casting round, doesn't it?
some of the rules on this. On page 58 of the Rulebook it is stated that
if you move troops, they need 1 full action round and can not be used
for any other action that round. If you declare war you can move them in
each war move and still use them for attacks in the same war move
without any penalties.
Could you declare war and then move your troops within your own domain
before invading someone else? Or is moving your troops within your own
domain always a 'move troops' action, unless in defence against an
invading army? The awnser to the first question should logicaly be
'yes', but that will give the player the ability to surprise, because
now he could concentrate the invading army 1 province away from the
border out of sight from the enemy scouts. If he needs to concentrate
the army at the border, that gives the defender a 1 round warning of an
incoming invasion (if he was so smart as to place scout units at the
border). But the rule of 'move troops' sounds illogical when compared to
the war move rules. This could be compensated, by stating that an army
could move into a province in 1 war move and only attack in the
following. If they have to defend themselves in that same war move they
will have a -1 on melee rating because of being tired. This will raise
the value of scouts, because at the moment it is to late if you see an
invading army marching at you.
I hope you understand what I mean, but this really boggles me (not to
mention that this might be a sollution to the surprise attacks problem
in the PBEM)...
Pieter Sleijpen
P.S. If you cast a realm spell, the spell will start at the beginning of
the next action round or in case of an instanteous spell at the end of
the casting round, doesn't it?